A+ A A-

Sign up for Lakes Region Girls Softball by May 15

The deadline to register for Lakes Region Girls Softball's 14U, 16U and 18U divisions is May 15. To play for LRGS, girls must be between the ages of 12 and 18 (as of Dec. 31, 2013). Senior divisions are open to players from Belmont, Laconia, Canterbury, Gilford, Gilmanton, Franklin, Winnisquam, Tilton-Northfield, Sanbornton, Hill and Andover.

The season lasts approximately 6 to 8 weeks. Practices will start mid-late May, and end in early July. LRGS does not schedule events Memorial Day Weekend or on the 4th of July. Games won't start until the school year is over. The commitment is typically two week nights and one weekend day.

The registration fee is $65 per player, with a family discount available. Players are also asked to participate in the league fundraiser. Uniforms are provided for that fee.

For more information and to download a registration form please visit  www.lakesregiongirlssoftball.com.

Last Updated on Monday, 14 April 2014 08:08

Hits: 186

Ice racing club crowns its champions

A long hard winter may have caused dismay to some, but not the Lakes Region Ice Racing Club. The club raced on eight weekends this year, making the 2014 one of the longer seasons in recent years. On Saturday the racers, friends and families gathered at the Moultonboro Lions Club to crown the 2014 champions and celebrate the season.

The Lakes Region club races on oval tracks prepared on Lee and Berry ponds with 4 divisions of cars: Juniors, 4 Cylinders, V8 Stocks, and Modifieds. A champion for each division is determined based on the season points system.

The nearly a hundred banquet attendees were treated to another fantastic buffet dinner prepared by Melanie Martel. Country music and dancing followed the awards portion. The evening's festivities were MC'd by racers and club officials Mike Horsch and Jack Cook. After the awarding of the raffle prizes, the efforts of club volunteers, the plow guys, and the many race sponsors were acknowledged. A special Sportsman of the year award was made to Derek Jeanson of Sandwich to acknowledge his dedication to the Club. Each of the divisions were then awarded trophies and prizes.

16 year-old Cody Burns, of Center Harbor, took the Junior championship for 2014. Next season Cody moves into the adult, rear wheel drive, 4
cylinder division driving the wicked fast, Scott Burns' Landscaping Nissan. Trevor Greene and Garrett Poitras finished as the second and
third place Juniors respectively.

Alley Ripley of Center Ossipee was crowned the V8 Stock class champion. Alley drove her Monte Carlo to consistently good finishes every week to take the points lead. The runner up was Matt Morrill followed by Adam Cahoon.

The super competitive, 4 Cylinder division champion was Tim Chase of Northfield. Tim, driving his bright yellow Toyota MR2, came out on top by a mere 8 points over rival Matt Taylor, who finished second in the championship run. Fabian Smith claimed the 3rd spot.

DJ Mills of Wolfeboro Falls was named the 2014 Modified division champion. DJ drove his winged sprint car to 3 victories and several solid finishes over the 8 week season. Jake Williams was second followed by Jack Cook.

For the last 30 racing seasons the Lakes Region Ice Racing Club has hosted a special charity race called the Latchkey Cup. This year's Latchkey Cup was a great success, raising $6,350 for local charities. Over the last year donations were made to three local families each with a member fighting cancer. The club also donated to two other families with medical conditions and sponsored three scholarships to local students.

The Club would like to thank all the volunteers, racers, sponsors, and especially the fans that made the 2014 season a great success and we look forward to seeing all our friends back on the ice next year. Check the club's website at www.LakesRegionIceRacingClub.com and Facebook page for the latest club information, rules updates, and photos.

Last Updated on Monday, 14 April 2014 07:40

Hits: 269

Gilford tennis knocks off Prospect Mountain for second win

The Gilford High School girls' tennis team earned its second win of the season on Thursday, defeating Prospect Mountain 5 to 2.

In the top-seeded singles match, Gilford's Lindsey Corsack beat Annika Patterson 8-5. Other singles matches were similarly close in score. Gilford's Emily Hanf defeated Alyssa Moodie 8-6 in the second singles match. Prospect Mountain players Lauren Breuer and Cydney McIntyre won the third and fourth matches, while Gilford's Abigail Kourafas and Brook Poll were victorious in the fifth and sixth singles matches.

The top-seeded doubles team of Corsack and Hanf took an 8-5 win over Patterson and Moodie to secure the win for Gilford. The other two doubles matches were cancelled due to severe wind.

Last Updated on Monday, 14 April 2014 07:35

Hits: 303

Wavemakers celebrate accomplishments of 32nd winter season

The Lakes Region Wavemakers rolled out the red carpet at the end of March to celebrate the end of the club's 32nd winter season. The end of year banquet was a flashy and fun event to highlight the swimmers' successes. Many individual awards and thank yous were handed out throughout the evening.

Receiving certificates for "Most Improved" were: Meredith Gerkin (6), Riley Pinard (6), Tessa Tanner (8), Hannah Verville (7), Dagon Burr (8) and Ethan Vachon (8), for the 8 and under age group; Ela Goucher (9), Alexa Lazzazera (10), Grace Shoemaker (10), Rose Sinkus (9), and Josh Kelleher (10), for the 9-10 age group; Laurel Gingrich (12), Eric Phelps (12), and Garrett Shaffer (12), for the 11-12 age group; Kaitlyn Callahan (13), Olivia Morea (13), Michele Young (13), and Beck Mclean (14), for the 13-14 age group; Rebecca Cook (16), Katie Gingrich (16), Sarah Sundius (17), Joe Bonnell (15), Owen Sanborn (16) and Matthew Sundius (15), for the 15 and older age group.

Rebecca Cook achieved LRW records in the 200 Butterfly, 200 and 400 Individual Medley. Cook, along with Katie Gingrich, Kayla Phelps and Sarah Sundius also achieved the LRW record for the 200 Medley Relay.

One of the highlights of the evening is the announcement of the Wavemaker and Ripple of the Year award. This award is presented to the swimmer who is selected by their peers and is viewed to have demonstrated a passion for the sport, dedication and leadership, as well as good sportsmanship and support of the other swimmers on the team. The 2013-14 Wavemaker of the Year is Rebecca Cook, receiving the award for the third year. The 2013-14 Ripple of the Year is Charlotte Philippy.

Another highlight is the acknowledgement of the senior swimmers who will be graduating this spring. Elisabeth Hutchins who has swam with the Wavemakers for 6 years, Ali Keith for 1 year and Sarah Sundius for 8 years.

The evening concluded with many thanks to all the coaches, parents, swimmers, and the community sponsors – AFL, Bridgewater Power Co., Children's Dentistry of the Lakes Region, Shauna Gauthier DMD, Interlakes Animal Hospital, Kennell Orthodontics, LASC, LRGH Healthcare, MC Cycle, Patrick's Pub & Eatery, Pepi Herrmann, Pirates Cove Mini Golf, Shetler Photography, Simple By Nature, State Electric and Winnisquam Dental, all who helped make the season successful!

The Wavemakers were back in the pool for their April Wave Swim Clinic  and will start the summer swim season on May 12. Information can be found on their website: www.lakesregionwavemakers.com.

Last Updated on Thursday, 10 April 2014 09:31

Hits: 258

The Laconia Daily Sun - All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy
Powered by BENN a division of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette