Teams Farina Iron, CJ Avery crowned Lakes Region Flag Football champs

On  August 11, the Lakes Region Flag Football League's Men's summer adult league held its Super Bowl games and winners were crowned champions in each of 2 divisions.

The grown-up version of our exciting NFL Flag youth league Fall & Spring program (boys & girls ages 4-17;, the LRFFL's summer league had a total of 12 teams participating in our fourth summer of action. All games were played on the Inter-Lakes High School turf field.

All of the teams made the playoffs, with the 12 teams divided into an "A" and "B" division. The "A" division consisted of the top 6 teams based upon their regular season record, while the "B" division was made up of teams seeded #7 thru #12 based upon their record. The playoff games were spread out over 3 separate nights to enhance the competition.

The Round 1 games saw plenty of action, with the "A" division 3 Seed Team Ramrod facing the 6 Seed Globo Gym Purple Cobras and the 4 Seed Franklin's Finest battling the 5 Seed Easy Company. The "B" division 3 Seed CJ Avery team took on the 6 Seed Off At Church team, and the 4 Seed Vipers met the 5 Seed Frog Rock team. The top 2 seeded teams in each division waited upon the outcome of the Round 1 games to see who their opponent would be as they battled for a trip into the Super Bowl game. 

The Round 2 games did not disappoint either, with each of the remaining teams doing their best to make it to the big game. In the "A" division the 1 Seed Farina Iron team took on the 4 Seed Franklin's Finest (in a re-match of a Week 1 battle) and the 2 Seed White Lightning team took on the 3 Seed Team Ramrod in the first meeting of the season for these two teams. The "B" division Round 2 match-ups saw the 1 Seed Warriors against the 4 Seed Vipers for the first time this season, and the#2 Seed Turn Down For What battling the 3 Seed CJ Avery team. Turn Down For What met CJ Avery in the first week of the Regular Season, with Turn Down For What winning a shootout 48-46.

The "A" Division Super Bowl featured the 1 Seed and undefeated Farina Iron team (6-0) taking on the 3 Seed Team Ramrod (6-1), whose only loss of the season came at the hands of Farina Iron in Week # of the Regular Season. The first half saw both teams come out on fire, and Team Ramrod got a QB sack in the end zone to take an early 2-0 lead and after taking over on offense, quickly scored a touchdown and extra point to go up 9-0.

Farina Iron's offense began to click midway through the half, and the score at halftime was Farina Iron 25, Team Ramrod 22.

The second 22 minute stanza saw Farina Iron's offense come out firing, and the defense began to put the kibosh on Team Ramrod's offense. Final score saw Farina Iron win their first LRFFL Men's Summer League Super Bowl after their second trip in a row to the big game, 63-28.

The "B" Division Super Bowl saw the 3 Seed CJ Avery team (3-4) playing the 4 Seed Vipers (3-4) for the championship. CJ Avery was on a three game winning streak, and the Vipers had won two in a row going back to the Regular Season and the first round of the playoffs. With both teams looking to extend their winning streak, CJ Avery took a 26-6 lead at the half and outlasted a scrappy Vipers team 38-18.

It was CJ Avery's second Super Bowl win in three seasons, having won the 2012 "A" division Super Bowl.

Follow the Lakes Region Flag Football League all year round:, and like us on Facebook: lakesregionflagfootball.