21st Francoeur/Babcock Tournament wraps up

The 21st Annual Francoeur/Babcock Memorial Basketball Tournament was held March 5-9 at Gilford Middle School. The winners have been announced following the final round games, played on Sunday.
Lou Athanas defeated Gilford, 26-24, in the junior division final. Leading scorers for Lou Athanas: Camden Kirker – 8 points, Nolin Stevens – 6 and Jacob Mello, 4. Leading Scorers for Gilford: Riley March, 13, Max Bartlett, 3. Sanbornton earned the third place finish, with Gilmanton finishing 4th.
In the senior girls' division final, Gilford defeated Lou Athanas, 30-15. Leading scorers for Gilford: Erin Hart, 12 points, Abby O'Connor, 6, and Shelby Cole, 4. For Lou Athanas: Isabella Daly scored 6, Sydney Ross, 3 and Sophie George, 3. Franklin took third place in the tournament and Belmont ended in fourth place.

In the senior boys' division final, Belmont defeated Gilford (30-20) to force an extra game. In the first game, Belmont's leading scorers were:
Aaron Simonds, 12 points, Nate Sottak, 10. Leading scorers for Gilford: Connor Sullivan, 9, Jonathan Mitchell, 6 and Andrew Flanders, 3.

Belmont again defeated Gilford in the second game of the senior boys' final. Leading scorers for Belmont: Aaron Simonds, 14 points, Keith Landry, 10. Leading scorers for Gilford: Jonathan Mitchell, 11, Connor Sullivan, 8 and Andrew Flanders, 3. In third place in the senior boys' division was Lou Athanas, Sanbornton ended in fourth place.

The Nathan J. Babcock Volunteer Award was presented to Tom Routhier. Denise Soucy Memorial Coaches Award was presented to Rod Roy of the Lou Athanas Senior Boys Team.