A+ A A-

Nearly 1 million veterans live in households that use food stamps

To The Daily Sun,

This letter will be the completion of my first letter published in The Daily Sun on April 15.

The articles I mention are of my choice out of many. In my opinion these are must-read articles by every veteran and all who are interested in the rest of the story.

This is a look at the human costs of two wars in 12 years. Google "total casualties Iraq Afghanistan wars." Read the article titled "U.S. casualties Afghanistan and post 9/11 conflicts." During Iraq war 4,475 service members were killed, and 32,220 were wounded. In Afghanistan 2,165 have been killed, 18,230 wounded through Feb. 5, 2013.

Next, Google "millions went to war in Iraq Afghanistan." Read the article headlined "Washington: millions went to war Iraq, Afghanistan." In brief, VA disability awards to veterans who suffer physical or mental injuries range from $129 to, $2,816 a month. Please read this article.

Next, Google "Iraq Afghan wars top 4 trillion dollars." Read this study of the Iraq and Afghan wars. In brief, at end of this article The Associated Press found that checks were still being sent to relatives of Civil War veterans 150 years ago.

These articles will assist anyone interested in continued increased deficits.

The last topic will be food stamps. This is a topic everyone should know about. But few if any talk about. Please Google "military families on food stamps." Read a letter to Dick Cheney about military and food stamps. There is also a must-watch video featuring three of the right-wing party experts. In brief, military families spend $100 million on SNAP benefits at site at military bases every year. In any given month, about 900,000 veterans live in households that use food stamps or SNAP benefits. I hope that those that will nitpick my last two letters to editor will do so pointing out sites that differ with ones I mentioned.

And finally, I have breaking news. I was sitting in my chair watching Fox News when Neil Cavoto came on at 4 p.m. His first Fox News contributor was, yup, Art Laffer of the Laffer curve. To those who watched it, the first words out of his mouth were, "W. made a big mistake when he didn't maintain Clinton era tax rates." I screamed with joy. Soon after that Cavoto went to commercial break.

Henry Osmer

Hill

Last Updated on Friday, 18 April 2014 10:41

Hits: 151

Work Force Housing RSA is a state law, not a town ordinance

To The Daily Sun,

I would like to thank everyone that attended the Sanbornton Selectmen's meeting held Monday, April 14, to review the work force housing amendments. Although our opinions differ, our concerns are the same.

There were many misconceptions regarding the Planning Board's position on this matter. Hopefully, the meeting with the Selectmen, Planning Board, and concerned residents was helpful and their questions and concerns were answered by the town attorney.

To clarify one misconception, Work Force Housing RSA 674:58-61 is a state law, not a town ordinance. Two of the amendments that pertain to workforce housing are there to help the Planning Board control how a developer will be able to develop the land, if they should decide to build workforce housing. Without these amendments the developer or the courts will make the decision for our town.

If you would like more information on this issue, please attend one of the two sessions that the Planning Board is holding. Thursday, May 1, 2014, at 7 p.m. in the Old Town Hall or Saturday, May 10, at 10 a.m. in the Old Town Hall. Our intent is to have an educated and well informed voter on Tuesday, May 13, 2014.

Thank you again for your attendance and input concerning this matter.

For the voters that have supported us in the past, thank you. We look forward to having your continued support and confidence in the Planning Board.

Don Bormes, Chairman

Sanbornton Planning Board

Last Updated on Friday, 18 April 2014 10:36

Hits: 199

Paint disposal bill in Senate would amount to just another tax

To The Daily Sun,

There is a bill in the Senate for paint disposal. What it amounts to is a 75-cent tax.

Let's have more rules. Government isn't big enough. Will we have the Paint Disposal Police?

I guess someone had problems disposing the paint.

In my town we have a Saturday in the summer and can bring hazardous waste and dispose of it then. If not convenient, then I can go to the waste center. It is very convenient. I have no problems. The people running it, do a very good job, in that it takes very little time.

Other states have passed it.... So if they are dumb enough to do this, does the state of New Hampshire have to do it, too?

Please, not another law.

Linda Riley

Meredith

Last Updated on Friday, 18 April 2014 10:33

Hits: 195

It’s utterly false to say 90% of Americans want more gun control

To the Daily Sun,

This is in response to Bernadette Loesch's letter of April 17 on gun control. Ms. Loesch states that almost 90 percent Americans want more gun control.

I am curious as to where Ms. Loesch got her statistics since Pew Research indicates that Americans are closely divided on the issue of gun control, with 49 percent in favor of gun rights vs. 50 percent in favor of gun control. Note that this survey was taken five months after Newtown.

It is true that politicians are sharply divided along party lines on this issue. But to say that 90 percent of Americans want more gun control is utterly false.

Please research your statistics for the sake of your credibility.

Dominique Vazquez-Vanasse

Laconia

Last Updated on Friday, 18 April 2014 10:30

Hits: 118

Good county government is necessary for our civil society

To The Daily Sun,

I am writing to show my agreement with letter writer Ann Rogers of Meredith. She notes, in an earlier letter to the editor, Republican Rep. Dennis Fields' valor in confronting the immature and mean-spirited leadership of the Belknap County Convention chairwoman. The chairwoman's appeals to emotion and prejudice at the expense of reason are leading our county down a dangerous path.

A big "thank you" goes out to Rep. Fields, our five Democratic Representatives, and the three county commissioners for fighting back against such dismal leadership. To claim saving money as a goal, but actually saving our citizens mere pennies a month, while eroding our underfunded county budget is hypocrisy to the core.

Our hard-working and dedicated county employees are essential for keeping the peace throughout our county and for the well-being of our most vulnerable citizens. Good county government is necessary for our civil society. Destroying it will be a disaster for us all.

Lew Henry

Gilmanton Iron Works

Last Updated on Friday, 18 April 2014 10:27

Hits: 210

 
The Laconia Daily Sun - All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy
Powered by BENN a division of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Login or Register

LOG IN