A+ A A-

Independents need not see supervisors before getting primary ballot

To The Daily Sun,

I have had some residents call for clarification of an article in your paper of Tuesday, May 13th: "You have until June 3 to change party affiliation for Primary voting" submitted by Elena Ball. She stated in the article in the second column, first full paragraph: "Before checking in with the ballot inspectors to vote, you must choose to vote as either a Republican or a Democrat by going to the Supervisors of the Checklist first. However, after you have voted, you may revert to undeclared status by returning to the Supervisors of the Checklist before you leave the polls. If you do not choose to revert to Undeclared, you will remain with the party that you have selected."

I submit the following correction. That part of the article should have read: "As an Undeclared you may choose either a Republican or Democratic ballot at the Check-in with the Ballot Inspectors. After voting, you may revert back to Undeclared status with the Supervisors of the Checklist before leaving the polling place. If you do not choose to revert back to Undeclared, you will remain with the party that you have selected."

Debra A. Cornett
Town Clerk/Tax Collector
Gilmanton

Last Updated on Tuesday, 20 May 2014 06:59

Hits: 130

Prevention of underage drinking vital to fulfilling our responsibility

To The Daily Sun,

Did you know that 35 percent of New Hampshire 12-20-year-olds reported drinking alcohol in the past 30 days – while nationally the number is closer to 25 percent?

On Thursday, May 29th, the Franklin Mayor's Drug Task Force will be hosting a "Town Hall' style meeting on the topic of underage drinking. All community members are invited to attend as an opportunity to increase awareness on how underage drinking is affecting the health of our youth and the safety of our communities.

Despite steady decreases in underage drinking, too many of our young people are using alcohol illegally and dangerously. SAMHSA's National Survey on Drug Use and Health found that approximately 9.3 million 12- to 20-year-olds — or about one in four young people in this age bracket — reported alcohol use during 2012. The problem begins while children are young, and then increases dramatically with age — this is known as the maturation effect. According to the Monitoring the Future survey, 22.1 percent of eighth-grade students reported using alcohol during 2013, and 8.4 percent reported having been drunk. Among graduating high school seniors, 62 percent had used alcohol during their senior year, and 43.5 percent reported having been drunk.

The consequences of underage drinking are costly — and often severe. Underage drinking contributes to brain impairment, academic problems, alcohol dependence, risky sexual activity, injury, and death from alcohol poisoning, injuries, suicide, and homicide. On average, approximately 4,700 youth die from alcohol-related causes each year.

The Franklin Mayor's Drug Task Force invites you to learn the truth about underage drinking and get answers as to why teens start drinking and what is happening on a local level. You will also learn what protective factors are the most effective in guiding children and youth toward good choices and healthy decision making.

Caregivers of the next generation have a responsibility to create communities in which our young people can grow into responsible, healthy adults. Prevention of underage drinking is vital to fulfilling this responsibility, and now is a critical time to act. The next few months are critical as youth take part in proms, graduation celebrations, and other seasonal activities where they may feel increased pressure to drink. Summer is also fast approaching. Did you know that more teens start drinking in June and July than any other month? Add prevention as one of your springtime activities and participate in the Franklin Mayor's Drug Task Force Town Hall meeting to prevent underage drinking, protect our children, and help your community spring into action.

Panelists for the evening will include Franklin Police Chief, David Goldstein and Traci Fowler the Regional Partners in Substance Misuse Prevention Coordinator.

The meeting will be held on Thursday, May 29th from 5:30-7:30 p.m. at the Bessie Rowell Community Center in Franklin. A free dinner will be provided along with childcare for children ages three and up. For more information, or to register contact the Franklin Mayor's Drug Task Force at 998-5337 or e-mail This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

Melissa Rizzo

Mayor's Drug Task Force

Franklin

Last Updated on Tuesday, 20 May 2014 06:54

Hits: 147

We chose not to offend people at price of offending the Almighty

To The Daily Sun,
In response to Steve Earle's Letter of May 14, "Our nation was built on our founding fathers' belief in creationism." Steve, I for the most part appreciate your conservative view point on a multitude of issues. Also we seem to be on the same page as to our founders belief in creationism. To be more precise they were mostly Christians and those from schisms that splintered off from the Christian church.
I'm a Christian, Steve. To be a Christian it is not necessary to be a creationist. It is necessary to believe that Jesus died on the cross for your sins and that God raised Him from the dead on the third day to go to the Father to prepare a place in heaven for those who believe in Him and turn away from their old sinful life and follow Him and His teaching. These things are real, Steve, and Christians all over the world trust their lives to Him.
I am under no illusion that America as a nation is going to turn back to God and the influence Christianity exerted on our policies and institutions. Not on this side of the Lords second coming anyway. We are moving rapidly toward the demonic world government described in the book of Revelation. Yet it is important to talk honestly about where we are, where we have come from and where we are going.
The church is built on the foundation of the apostles and prophets, that means that the old testament writings are foundational to our faith. To attack it is to attack the foundation of our faith. Steve, the Christian faith is based on the actuality of the supernatural deeds of God now ,in the past, and in the future.
Steve, please if you are going to respond, please read my letters of 4/24/14 and 5/9/14 and save me the work of restating those points in detail again, as I work a 60 + hour work week besides managing a household.
Part of the problem evolutionists have, in understanding even what the debate is, is that they can't think outside of the evolutionary box. You said that creationism is not science therefore it doesn't belong in science class, that "religion depends on faith" and that there is "no science behind it." Just what does mean, Steve? Certainly there is reason behind biblical faith. God counts the witness of the creation as sufficient evidence of who He is and what He's like to cast those who disbelieve into hell. (Rom. 1:20). Our founders considered the Creator's self evident truth as worthy to lay down their lives for. For me the Bible and our founders carry more weight than David Hume. He is the philosopher whose thought underlies the rebellion against the evidence of creation.
As to the venue of science class, evolutionist have chosen the venue. They say that they have the authoritative actual account of how all things came to be, and save perhaps before the supposed big bang that God has not exercised His supernatural power. This is what the theory of evolution teaches. It is not neutral toward religion or God. It is theological. It is at worst atheistic,at best deism. Neither is macro evolution any more weighable, measurable, or quantifiable than the creation scenario, "It supposedly takes millions of years and you can't see it." But they teach it to our children as authoritative truth.
To sum up. God is real. He exercises His supernatural power daily. If we are to return to being a nation under God and the no nonsense blessings conservative writers constantly write about, we had better stop teaching our children that God either does not exist or that He is irrelevant, for "The fear of the Lord is the beginning of knowledge." (Proverbs 1:7) It is the foundation upon which all wisdom rests. Otherwise you might just as well be howling at the moon. If we believe in Him; why do we, as a nation, chose to not offend people at the price of offending the Almighty.
I understand that much of what I imply goes against decades of case precedent, but please don't tell me things are unconstitutional unless you're willing to go back to that document, for too many of our justices have been defecating on our constitution for some time.

John Demakowski

Franklin

Last Updated on Tuesday, 20 May 2014 06:48

Hits: 101

Goal was to build library without town funds & that was accomplished

To The Daily Sun,
The Gilmanton Year-Round Library Board of Directors would like to respond to Ms. Marrion's letter of May 6. She asked the GYRL Board to provide verifiable documentation about its past stance on town funding for operation of the library.

The Board reviewed the selectmen's minutes of January 30, 2006. At that selectmen's meeting, the then GYRL president stated that "they have been trying to build the library for six years, and their goal was to build without having to come to the town for money. She felt it was premature to discuss operation of the library at this time. The president stated that if they succeed in getting the library 85 percent paid for, but can't go any further, she isn't saying they wouldn't come to the town, but their goal is to build the library without coming to taxpayers. She said the second goal is to try to get endowments for operating costs. The president said if they succeed in building the library and don't have the funds to operate it, she wouldn't be ashamed to come to the town and ask for operating funds."

Prior to that meeting, several other instances are reflected in the selectmen minutes (4/21/03, 5/17/04, 1/10/05) as to the intent of the GYRL Board of Directors. Their goal was to build the library without town funds, which was accomplished. The issue of operating expenses did not come up until the 2006 minutes.
The current Board of Directors is committed to continue to provide quality services for patrons, be fiscally responsible and work with residents as we move forward with long-range planning. A public meeting is planned for July so the board can hear from residents regarding library services and future direction.
Anne Kirby, President

Gilmanton Year-Round Library Association

Last Updated on Tuesday, 20 May 2014 06:45

Hits: 176

Lawsuit against my office was frivolous & their lawyers got paid

To The Daily Sun,

I am writing with regard to a letter sent to the editor and published on May 13, that letter having been written by Belknap County Commissioners Edward Philpot, John Thomas and Stephen Nedeau. The commissioners'
letter was written in response to Rep. Burchell's letter of May 7.

One paragraph of their letter read: " The commissioner's did not attempt to make themselves custodians of any funds. They did insist on the Register of Deed's compliance with internal control issues reported by the auditors. These controls have since been implemented and the funds in question are properly in the hands of the treasurer, as the statute requires. Unfortunately, it required legal action. This is not a cost that the taxpayers should bear. This has been explained many times."

I have remained silent for nearly three years regarding the lawsuit the commissioners filed in Belknap County Superior Court against me — not individually, but as Register of Deeds — an elected position and as such a county department head. During this three year time period the commissioners have not found it to be convenient to mention that at mediation of this suit, I prevailed. This mediation was attended by myself, my attorney Philip McLaughlin, Commissioner Philpot, County Administrator Deb Shackett, Finance Director Glen Waring, the commissioners' attorney Paul Fitzgerald and as Mediator Retired Judge Bruce Mohl.

The "difference of opinion" began when the commissioners received a letter from the county auditing firm, Melanson Heath & Co. urging the commissioners to require the Registry of Deeds to make a daily deposit of funds collected at
the Registry into the county's general fund rather than a daily deposit into a Registry of Deeds account. New Hampshire RSA 478:17-j is the law that states the requirement of the Register of Deeds. The commissioners did want
the county treasurer to have control, which is not what the law states. This would have given the county daily access to funds that do not belong to the county — the Registry is the gatekeeper of funds that belong to the state.

The commissioners commenced the suit against the Register of Deeds in October 2011. We had fruitless meetings to attempt to settle the difference of opinions.

On June 19, 2012, we met for mediation. After a day long discussion an agreement was reached. The Registry of Deeds would retain its' separate checking account, as required by law. The Registry of Deeds would continue to make its' daily deposit of funds into that account. The Registrar of Deeds would continue to pay — once a month, as always — the funds due to the State of New Hampshire and Belknap County, as required by law. The Registry would provide a daily copy of the bank deposit slip via e-mail to the finance director. The Registry would provide a daily copy of the break down of funds received — whereas previously this information had been provided monthly along with the checks sent to the finance office. This daily information is sent via e-mail. Checks would be signed by the Registrar and a second signatory. After discussion it was agreed this would be the county treasurer.

The agreement was signed that day by the attorneys, Commissioner Philpot and myself as Register of Deeds. These documents are on file with the Belknap County Superior Court.

This suit was a source of great distress to me, the underlying implication of the commissioners being that I was mishandling the funds in the Registry of Deeds. I successfully defended the RSA regarding the operation of the
Registry of Deeds. Defending myself as Register of Deeds did indeed cost me emotionally and financially. The taxpayers of Belknap County paid the legal fees incurred by the Commissioners for this frivolous suit.

Barbara R. Luther

Register of Deeds

Belknap County

Last Updated on Tuesday, 20 May 2014 06:39

Hits: 330

 
The Laconia Daily Sun - All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy
Powered by BENN a division of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Login or Register

LOG IN