A+ A A-

Romans gave up their Republic through cleverly crafted hoax

To The Daily Sun,

In 70 B.C., Marcus Licineus Crassus was a extremely wealthy and minor Roman politician whose desire was to rule Rome . The invention of the fire brigade has been credited to him. His slaves would rush to the scene of a burning building. Crassus would make an offer to buy the building for a tiny fraction of its worth. If the owner declined, the building would burn to the ground. If the owner agreed then the slaves would douse the fire with buckets of water. Crassus's wealth and power increased. He became one of the wealthiest land owners in Rome. It would not be inconceivable to equate that some of those fires may had been deliberately set.

When Spartacus led a slave revolt, Crassus saw an opportunity to terrorize Rome and take the city. Spartacus and former slaves only wanted to sail to freedom. Crassus paid the mercenary fleet to sail without Spartacus and his army, and called for two Roman legions to block their way. This gave but one exit: To march toward Rome. The people panicked and declared Crassus Praetor (They lead armies, presided in law courts and administered the law, second only to position of consul.) He then defeated the gladiators and was elected Consul of Rome the following year.

Through the stratagem of fear, Crassus altered the Roman Republican form of government. The commencement of the first Triumvirate consisted of Julius Caesar, Marcus Licinius Crassus, and Gnaeus Pompii.They met in 60 B.C. and conspired to share the power of ruling Rome. Crassus was killed fighting the Parthians in 53 B.C. Pompeii was defeated in the battle of Pharsalus in 48 B.C. Julius Caesar then had total control of the government.

Mark Antony, Octavian and Marcus Lepidus were the second Triumvirate to rule Rome. Caesa ended up with all power after Lepidus resigned after a mutiny attempt. Antony killed himself after Otavian defeated him in the Battle of Actium. They were followed by emperors who ruled as god-like.

Romans gave up their Republic through a cleverly crafted hoax developed by one man who sought power for himself. Sound familiar?

"It is easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." — Mark Twain.

Gene F. Danforth
Danbury

Last Updated on Friday, 25 April 2014 09:23

Hits: 81

We regret we have to close the Inter-Lakes Senior Center

To The Daily Sun,

It is with deep regret that the Community Action Program Belknap-Merrimack Counties Inc. (CAPBMCI) is announcing the closing of the Inter-Lakes Senior Center in Meredith. The agency has been faced with making this very difficult decision due to rising costs and funding reductions. We would like to extend our sincere appreciation to the community for supporting the center for many years. The Senior Center would not have been possible without the support of volunteers, civic groups, business donations, local agencies and municipalities.

The Senior Center relocated to the Meredith Community Center in Apri, 2006. Senior Center activities were held at the Trinity Episcopal Church for many years.

We want to be clear that the Elder Services Department under the umbrella of CAPBMCI will continue to provide all current services for residents of Meredith, Center Harbor and New Hampton. Meals-On-Wheels participants will continue to receive their meals five days a week through the nearby Laconia Senior Center. Service will continue without a noticeable change.

It is our intention to continue the Rural Transportation Program offering rides for medical appointments, grocery shopping and other important community resources.

For a delicious mid-day meal and fellowship seniors may take part in luncheons held at any of our senior centers, such as the Laconia Senior Center. We may offer rides to Laconia for lunch as needed. Other nearby luncheons includes Tilton, Franklin, Alton or Belmont. Depending upon the interest of local seniors we are exploring the option of a new community luncheon to be held once or twice each month in the area.

The Inter-Lakes Senior Center will be closing on May 30, 2014. For information on the closing of the center please contact me, Pam Jolivette, Director of Elder Service, CAPBMCI at (603) 225-3295 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . For information on services after May 30, 2014, please contact Tom Menard, Laconia Senior Center manager, who may be reached at (603) 524-7689. Meals-on-Wheels referrals still go to the Meredith Area Center, CAPBMCI at (603) 279-4096.

Pam Jolivette, Director of Elder Services

Community Action Program

Belknap-Merrimack Counties Inc.

Concord

 

Last Updated on Friday, 25 April 2014 09:15

Hits: 338

Truth prevailed in the end; Gulick v. Cormier was frivolous lawsuit

To The Daily Sun,

A Victory for Truth, Justice and the Rule of Law was decided by James D. O'Neill at Laconia Superior Court on April 16,2014. Case Name: Ruth P.Gulick, et al v. Jane Cormier, et al (211-2014-CV-00034).

The definition of a lawsuit is a case in a court of law involving a claim, complaint by one party against another. A frivolous lawsuit is characterized by lack of seriousness or sense and of little or no weight, worth, or importance.

On March 3, 2014, a complaint for violation of RSA 91-A was filed in court by Ruth P. Gulick, retired attorney, Democratic Representative to the House and also the Belknap County Convention. Colette Worsman, Republican chair of the Belknap Convention and Jane Cormier, Republican clerk were named as defendants. After the filing, David O. Huot, retired lawyer and judge, Laconia rep. and convention member took over as the case name in the suit. The complaint was signed by three more Democrats, Beth Arsenault, rep. from Laconia, Ian Raymond, rep. from Sanbornton and Lisa A. DiMartino, a rep. from Gilford.

The lawsuit was definitely frivolous in context, a political maneuver to fight for a bigger Belknap County budget, without thought of the taxpayers. Did the elected Democrats have limited knowledge of RSA 91-A statute? What will happen now? Will the Belknap County taxpayers be responsible for the cost? The elections this year gives us a chance to vote for the best candidate, one who will be for We the People.

At the Hearing on April 3, it was stated the court may invalidate the action of a body, not a person. I believe the judge stated this. The plaintiffs' filed a motion to amend on April 8. The motion was granted. Another try to keep the frivolous lawsuit moving by Rep. Huot, who was arguing for the plaintiff.

Did Rep. Arsenault, on February 18, decide to bring a vote to the table knowing there were more votes for the commissioners budget? Was the stormy night a chance to facilitate the bigger budget? Did anyone object to the speaker-phone conversation of Rep. Comtois? There was stealth participation from the convention members, no one objected (RSA 91-A:2, 3a and c).

All representatives take a vow to serve the public with honesty and integrity. The truth prevailed in the end, from a N.H. Superior Court: Interested parties at a meeting are entitled to object, but are not entitled to change their decision after the meeting. Accordingly, the plaintiffs' count 1 and 2 denied.

Rosemary Landry
Meredith

Last Updated on Friday, 25 April 2014 09:11

Hits: 325

I hope you'll stand with nursing home residents & employees

To The Daily Sun,

Monday night the Belknap County Delegation (Convention) will discuss and vote on a special appropriation to provide Belknap County Nursing Home employees a modest 1.5 percent wage increase — the first increase in two years. The contract has been approved and ratified by the employees and the county commissioners. Now it is up to the county delegation to fund it.

There is unnecessary and embarrassing opposition and discord within the delegation, caused by its leadership, that is likely to unfairly victimize these nursing home employees and their new contract. I ask, will the anti-worker group that currently controls the delegation purport that their (anticipated) objection is really about the 1.5 percent wage increase, or is it more about the ongoing strife with the fair-minded, more socially responsible commissioners who oversee our county resources and responsibilities?

For more than a year, I have read about and seen their childlike behavior and shenanigans unfold. Their meetings have included name-calling, tantrums, members storming out, deception, and an overall lack of respect for the law. This is certainly not indicative of democracy, and in fact, has become an embarrassment to the people who elected these extremist legislators.

Now the dysfunctional behavior is being focused on one of our most vulnerable populations — our elderly. Nursing home residents cannot safely and fully care for themselves at home. Families make the difficult decision to move their elder loved ones to a new home for better, safer and healthier care than they can provide at home. They take a leap of faith and entrust their beloved family member to nursing home staff. And in turn, staff rise to the occasion by providing loving, attentive care for the family member.

As a 30-year Belknap County resident and as their union president, I stand up for the nursing home employees. Their work is incredibly challenging and difficult but it is also full of compassion, grace and virtue. I respect and value them more than I can express in this simple writing.

They toil around the clock to make sure the residents are clean, shaved, fed, entertained, monitored, and as physically fit as possible — and let's not forget — loved. Staff members often lift and move individuals who outweigh them and must attend to individuals' most personal hygiene needs. This is not a "day at the beach" job. And yet some members of the delegation are not supportive of a 1.5 percent pay raise. It's disgraceful and shameful that their political ideology so blatantly overshadows the needs of our most vulnerable citizens.

Nursing home residents thrive under a continuum of care provided by the same quality, loving team members. "Familiar faces" matter so much in our final days of life. A revolving-door of staff, which low wages cause, jeopardizes elderly residents of nursing homes. In order to maintain excellent care and standards, we must compensate workers at a rate that ensures they can take care of our loved ones, as well as their own. They deserve and need to earn a living wage.

Both bargaining teams — the employees' and the county's — agreed to a contract that recognizes the challenges created by the high cost of health benefits. The employees made concessions in their health benefits in order to get the modest wage increase. The employees are not money grabbing gold-diggers, much as some delegates like to portend. They simply need a fair contract to be funded so they can take care of their families while they take care of ours.

If the contract is funded, as taxpayers it will cost us less than a medium cup of coffee to help these workers feed their families. Surely the seniors in our community are worth that small sacrifice.

I hope you will stand with the Belknap County Nursing Home residents and employees. Join us at a rally of support on Monday, April 28, starting at 3:30 p.m. at the Belknap County Complex, 34 County Road, Laconia. You can also help by signing on in support at this link: http://1984.seiu.org/page/s/support-belknap-county-nursing-home-residents-and-staff.

Diana Lacey, President

SEA/SEIU Local 1984

Laconia

Last Updated on Friday, 25 April 2014 09:07

Hits: 230

Sunday, April 27 is Gold Star Mother's Day in New Hampshire

To The Daily Sun,

During the First World War, in May 1918, President Woodrow Wilson approved the suggestion of the Women's Committee of National Defenses recommending that American women should wear a black band on the upper left arm adorned with a gold star. Each star representing a family member who had given his or her life for their country. President Woodrow Wilson first used the term "Gold Star Mother" in his letter to the Women's Committee.

The mothers of New Hampshire's fallen heroes have made the ultimate sacrifice for human freedom, and we owe them the most profound debt of gratitude. More than anyone, they bear the deep emotional burden and loss of those who have laid down their lives for the cause of liberty. New Hampshire owes these dignified and graceful mothers of freedom our deepest admiration and our promise that the sacrifice of their children will never be forgotten.

To assure that their children would not be forgotten, in 1999, Gov. Jeanne Shaheen signed into law RSA 4:13-h: "Gold Star Mother's Day, "calling for ...the proper observance of the first Sunday after Easter which shall be known as Gold Star Mother's Day recognizing and honoring all mothers who have lost sons or daughters while on duty in the United States armed forces. The governor shall urge the citizens of the state to observe this day with appropriate events..."

Each year, this observance is an opportunity to offer our solemn respect to Gold Star Mothers and renew our ongoing pledge that America will always remember those who died while wearing the uniform of the United States and forever honor their families' sacrifice.

In the words of President Franklin D. Roosevelt in 1944: "There is nothing adequate which anyone in any place can say to those who are entitled to display the gold star in their windows America lives in freedom.

Karen Thurston
Blue Star Mothers of N.H.

Gilford

Last Updated on Thursday, 24 April 2014 09:44

Hits: 178

 
The Laconia Daily Sun - All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy
Powered by BENN a division of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Login or Register

LOG IN