A+ A A-

Rosemary wouldn't make up a conversatoin with Herb Vadney

To The Daily Sun,

On behalf of the Belmont Heritage Commission and Belmont Historical Society we thank the community for interest, participation and support on March 11 and throughout the year. Generous approvals for the Heritage Fund and John M. Sargent Fund requests, will help match a bandstand restoration grant from the Land and Community Heritage Investment Program, and establish a long-term project to "Preserve Belmont History" with digital archives of vintage photographs.

Despite disappointment that a proposal for Historic Demolition Review will not be implemented this year, we believe a community conversation about demolition decisions is needed. Much Belmont history has been lost, including the Badger and Fellows dams, Railroad Station, Village School House, Baptist Church Parsonage and significant barns and residences throughout our town.

Citizens and others have been resourceful protecting local treasures, like the re-purposed Belmont Mill, architecturally distinctive library, 1792 Province Road Meeting House and the landmark Victorian-era Bandstand. We salute them, and appreciate the privilege of serving the community's future, in part, by celebrating its past.

Linda Frawley

Heritage Commission Chairman 2012-2014

Wallace Rhodes, Founding Member & Historical Society President

Heritage Commission Chairman 2004-2012

Last Updated on Monday, 17 March 2014 09:52

Hits: 106

Rosemary wouldn't make up a conversation with Herb Vadney

To The Daily Sun,

First, congratulations to Joe Kenney in his bid for Executive Council. It is encouraging that a conservative with no union backing and using his own money, can still get elected in New Hampshire.

Second, on behalf of our family, many thanks to the 185 voters who wrote Dave's name in for the Meredith Selectboard position. Dave was not actively running a campaign, so was overwhelmed with the number of votes he received. Those votes are a direct result of unbelievable energy on the part of Rosemary Landry, Don Ewing, and Nancy Duren, as well as letters that expressed confidence in Dave's ability to be on the board. Thank you all for the support. It is important to have choice in the electoral process.

Because it is bothersome to me, my third point deals with the "shenanigans," claimed by some, within this election. I am and have been on many boards ranging from school board, quilt guild boards, music organization boards, PTO boards, booster boards, and church boards. I have many friends who have been on a variety of other public boards.

The common ground on all boards is that when someone's term is up and they are leaving the board, heads come together informally to think of a replacement who is a "like" thinker for the majority of those still governing. There are laws in place concerning public boards and the Right to Know Law, but nonetheless, this is both human nature and common practice.

In looking at accusations about the Meredith Selectboard elections and reading computer and newspaper comments, I know that Hillary Seeger was recruited by Carla Horne to become a candidate. I cannot believe that Carla Horne would have encouraged Hillary to run unless she knew that Herb Vadney was not running. Hillary is a very nice person, but not very well known to most, and she had never even been to a Selectboard meeting before filing, making Vadney pretty tough to beat.

Given the cohesiveness of the Selectboard, when the filing date for elections was looming, it is also impossible to believe that someone on the board would not have asked Herb Vadney if he was resigning. It is equally probable that board members would have been told that Hillary Seeger, a friend of Carla Horne, was running for the board.

Over the past years, I have read Rosemary Landry's letters. She gets her facts before she puts them to paper. She absolutely would not have made up a conversation with Herb Vadney and then put it in writing for the newspapers. I do find it odd that only Carla Horne and Herb Vadney have been asked about the situation by both Seeger and the press. It might be interesting to know what the chairman knew and what was passed on to the other board members, before casting stones in the direction of letter writers, who still have a right to their opinions and interpretations.

I'm certain there was no conspiracy on the part of the board to limit candidates. But a public announcement of vacancy would have been a nice courtesy gesture for the people of Meredith.

Karen Sticht

Meredith

Last Updated on Monday, 17 March 2014 09:47

Hits: 218

January 2014 was 1.7 degrees warmer than 20th Century average

To The Daily Sun,

"Despite the snow and cold in much of the eastern and southern U.S., January 2014 was 1.17 degrees warmer than the 20th-Century average for the planet as a whole. In fact, it was the fourth warmest January on record, dating back to 1880. NationalJournal.com"
— The Week magazine, March 7, 2014, page 16

The same issue had a dissenting opinion by two scientists. I wonder if they read the little snippet above. Can we afford to hope that global warming is a myth?

Dick Devens
Center Sandwich

Last Updated on Monday, 17 March 2014 09:44

Hits: 107

Community Rights ordinances adopted in Alexandria, Danbury & Hebron

To The Daily Sun,

Three Newfound area towns took up the issue of Community Rights on Tuesday, March 11. Alexandria, Danbury, and Hebron considered warrant articles to expand our rights to local democracy and sustainability.

We join an increasing number of New Hampshire communities that are coming together to secure our rights to make the critical decisions about our own futures.

In Alexandria, Danbury and Hebron, our communities are threatened with industrial wind turbines. On March 11, residents in all three towns adopted Community Bills of Rights Ordinances asserting our rights to local self-governance and banning unsustainable energy projects. The ordinances were voted in by 320 to 119 in Alexandria, in Danbury 264 to 124 and in Hebron, the vote was 88 to 17.

Following the vote in Alexandria, Tom Larson stated, "I know I am proud to be a resident in a town with this much backbone." Another resident, Jim Hoyt stated, "With our small town being threatened by foreign companies who want to destroy our land, environment and way of life, the residents of Alexandria have pulled together and showed by this vote that we are willing to take a stand to protect and enforce our rights. I am proud to be a part of this community."

We have witnessed the devastation from turbines in the nearby town of Groton. When we learned of the turbines coming to our communities, we contacted the Community Environmental Legal Defense Fund (CELDF) for assistance. The Community Environmental Legal Defense Fund is a public interest law firm assisting communities across the country in grassroots organizing to assert community rights to democratic local self-governance, to recognize the rights of nature, and to create sustainable communities through local law-making.

CELDF has assisted more than 150 communities in drafting laws that protect them from harmful corporate activities such as shale gas drilling and "fracking", factory farming, and corporate water withdrawals, and eliminate corporate "rights" at the municipal level when they violate community rights to clean air and water, local self-governance, and the rights of nature.

Michelle Sanborn

CARE Group

Alexandria

Last Updated on Monday, 17 March 2014 09:40

Hits: 234

Cable TV franchise contracts don't address rates or line-ups

To The Daily Sun,

This is in response to Scott Kipriotis's March 13 letter to the Sun:

I must address a misconception you have about cable TV franchises and the contracts that govern them. A franchise contract with a cable TV company does not award them a monopoly for the duration of the contract. Any competitor wishing to enter the market in a town already covered by a cable company can do so. That has been the case since the Communications Act of 1996 was passed by Congress.

Franchise contracts do not address cable rates or channel line-ups, nor should they, as these are more often than not covered under contracts with the content providers or under federal law. It is the contracts between the cable companies and the content providers (A&E, Discovery, Golf Channel, History, etc.) that determines both the price per subscriber, the location of the various channels within various programming tiers, and so-called niche channels. (Niche channels that are funded by cable subscribers even if no one watches them and are usually required to be carried by the content providers as a condition of carrying their prime programming.)

On another topic you mention, the looming merger of Comcast and Time-Warner, I must agree wholeheartedly. Creating "super providers" will work against consumers in the long run as it diminishes competition and that's always bad for the consumer.

In regards to MetroCast leasing lines from Comcast, I don't know if your prediction that Comcast will boost the costs of leasing those lines will come to be. There are more than a few companies out there leasing dark fiber (what I believe MetroCast is leasing from Comcast). So. if Comcast decides to boost their rates there's nothing stopping MetroCast from going elsewhere, or if it comes to that, building their own lines.

As to your experience with MetroCast's failure to address the problem with your e-mail account, I can suggest that you file a complaint with MetroCast and forward a copy of the complaint to the Laconia City Manager's office. After all, the city of Laconia won't automatically know about problems with MetroCast unless you tell them. Believe it or not, the various towns and cities want to know about complaints against the cable companies serving their municipalities. It gives them ammunition during contract negotiations and helps to ensure the cable company is living up to the terms of the franchise contract. (A caveat: most franchise agreements deal only with the video portion of a cable company's service. Since Internet service isn't regulated like that of video or phone service, there is little in most franchise contracts that covers it other than the company will provide it.)

Dale Channing Eddy

Gilford

Last Updated on Monday, 17 March 2014 09:37

Hits: 233

 
The Laconia Daily Sun - All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy
Powered by BENN a division of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Login or Register

LOG IN