A+ A A-

Belly dancing will project a positive self image in Franklin

To The Daily Sun,

A few years ago, Mayor Ken Merrifield suggested that the Franklin School District sell bricks and develop a reality TV series to fund education. It seems the cast of characters has been hired. The director is still uncertain. It is the City Council or it is a School Board member?

Many districts have club and groups to help young people negotiate through the stress of school, family crisis, peer relationships. Faculty at Franklin High School thought it would be a good idea and put the proposal to the board for approval. In most districts the groups read, discuss, and listens to presentations to stimulate concrete methods of assistance and supports. In Franklin, in keeping with that reality TV theme, the board chair (a/k/a Department of Education employee, town moderator, and spouse of City Council member — remember, this is Franklin and you can be all those things without a "smidgeon" of conflict of interest) offered to teach the group how to belly dance. Yes, you did hear me right. Belly dance! In what world does belly dancing promote a positive self-image? Other than Franklin? But then again, this board was not elected to promote education.

You might want to attend the State Board of Education meeting on the 13th for more drama. Hill School District initiated a study last November on possibly withdrawing from Franklin Middle and High Schools. Franklin Board refused to attend and participate in the meetings but now they want to be heard. Hmmm, let's not participate when invited. Let's not be a "good" neighbor and hear the issues but let's wait till it's all over THEN cry foul. Is anyone surprised that Hill wants to leave this toxic bullying environment?

K. W. Sawyer

Franklin

Last Updated on Wednesday, 12 March 2014 09:11

Hits: 263

Budget cuts have cost me my job at Belknap County Nursing Home

To The Daily Sun,

To the residents of the Belknap County Nursing Home and their families:

It is with a very heavy heart that I write this letter to you. After 39 years of employment at the BCNH, I have been notified that due to budget cuts my position at the nursing home has been eliminated. My last day of work will be April 1st.

I would appreciate it if you would all act casual of this very difficult situation, as I do not want to disrupt the workings of the home. I assume all of you that I will be at my desk everyday, doing my job for you, until the very end. I will leave you all with my head held high and no regrets, knowing I have served you well.

I want to thank you all for that honor and privilege. I will miss you all.

Debbie  White

Belmont

Last Updated on Wednesday, 12 March 2014 09:06

Hits: 278

Obama continues to funnel millions into this abortion machine

To The Daily Sun,

Around about 100 years ago something happened that changed the course of the world. A poverty-stricken girl (one of many children born into her family) was raised by a religiously obedient mother and a drunken and abusive father. When she became a woman, she had formed a rather negative opinion of the church which helped neither her mother nor her father (and seemingly, she wasn't too fond of her siblings either). Margaret Sanger became involved with the ACLU (American Communist Lawyers Union) and embraced the upcoming fascist teachings of Adolph Hitler. To make a really long story short, she then founded what is known today as Planned Parenthood.

This hurt and abused girl grew into an angry and bitter woman who pioneered the practice of infanticide in your United States.

Now, tell me who made the following statements, Hitler or Margaret Sanger:

The purpose in promoting birth control was "to create a race of thoroughbreds," she wrote in the Birth Control Review, Nov. 1921 (p. 2)

"More children from the fit, less from the unfit — that is the chief aim of birth control." Birth Control Review, May 1919, p. 12

"We do not want word to go out that we want to exterminate the Negro population," she said, "if it ever occurs to any of their more rebellious members." Woman's Body, Woman's Right: A Social History of Birth Control in America, by Linda Gordon

A woman's physical satisfaction was more important than any marriage vow, Sanger believed. Birth Control in America, p. 11

"The marriage bed is the most degenerating influence in the social order," Sanger said. (p. 23)

"The most merciful thing that a large family does to one of its infant members is to kill it." Margaret Sanger, Women and the New Race (Eugenics Publ. Co., 1920, 1923)

It is said that Hitler killed 6 million Jews and another 6 million others (Poles, Russians, Slavs, Catholics, Protestants, etc.). He was able to do this because he persuaded an entire nation to believe that his targets were less than human. He wanted to establish a master race. And so he set out to wipe out all those within his reach whom he deemed unfit for life.
Since Roe v. Wade was passed more than 36 million American children have been murdered in their mother's wombs. Hitler only dreamed of attaining those numbers. This is the legacy of Margaret Sanger.

But Planned Parenthood hasn't stopped there. It has become the go-to source of sex education for nearly a majority of America's schools. It has become a monster that feeds off the teat of the American taxpayer and anyone else who has been blinded by its deception. Did we forget Hitler's famous position from "Mein Kampf," the use of a lie so "colossal" that no one would believe that someone "could have the impudence to distort the truth so infamously." He used it to convince Germany that the Jews were responsible for World War I. And now Planned Parenthood has used it to convince Americans that its children are responsible for their unhappiness. PP would have you believe that America cannot go on without it, much like the slave traders tried to continue to promote slavery when faced with opposition. Just ask the Susan G. Komen Foundation.

When they determined to stop funding to PP because it was under investigation for wrongdoing (something that was in SGK's by-laws), all of hell rained down upon their heads about what they could do with their own money. What makes matters worse is that what SGK is trying to do (end breast cancer) is directly impacted by the abortion mill that PP is. In case you are unaware, PP is the nation's largest abortion performer with over 300,000 annually (not rare, and definitely not safe for the baby). Thirty-six studies in 14 Chinese provinces recently gave evidence that there can be a 44 percent increased chance of breast cancer after one abortion. https://www.cbn.com/cbnnews/healthscience/2013/December/Study-Reveals-Link-between-Abortion-and-Breast-Cancer/.
Our president continues to funnel millions of your dollars to this machine, and even though it has tremendous income resources of its own (check out their 2012 report) the beast never says stop. When 95 percent of abortions are done for the sake of birth control, is it really necessary to perpetuate this atrocity?

You can do something about the life of Planned Parenthood. Let's abort the aborter. You can pull the plug of your own dollars by voting out the politicians who do its bidding. Which reminds me that a local representative endorsed Mike Cryans because, among other things, he will continue to support the beast. I don't know anything about him, but if she is correct, I know who I won't endorse.

Remember the words of Jesus. In Luke 17:2 he says, "It would be better for him if a millstone were hung around his neck and he were thrown into the sea, than that he would cause one of these little ones to stumble." Don't believe the lie of an angry and bitter world. Stop the beast.

Stop fomenting genocide upon your own. Satan is a liar and the father of all lies (Jn 8:44). And that instituted abortion is good for a nation is one of his best. Just ask the Hebrews who passed their children through the fire to Molech what God thought of the practice. "He followed the ways of the kings of Israel and even sacrificed his son in the fire, engaging in the detestable practices of the nations the Lord had driven out before the Israelites". II Kings 16:3

Stop the detestable practices.

Mark A. Dadian
Laconia

Last Updated on Wednesday, 12 March 2014 09:03

Hits: 105

Can we really afford to hope that global warming is just a myth

To The Daily Sun,

I read the following in the March 7, 2014, issue of The Week magazine (page 16):

"Despite the snow and cold in much of the eastern and southern U.S., January 2014 was 1.17 degrees warmer than the 20th-century average for the planet as a whole. In fact, it was the fourth warmest January on record, dating back to 1880. NationalJournal.com"

The same issue had a dissenting opinion by two scientists. I wonder if they read the little snippet above. Can we afford to hope that global warming is a myth?

Dick Devens
Center Sandwich

Last Updated on Tuesday, 11 March 2014 09:53

Hits: 150

Obama must have skipped school when world history was taught

To The Daily Sun,

Oh gosh, Obama is getting tough now. Yep, he told Putin there will be consequences for invading the Crimea. Anybody else thinks this is like Pee Wee Herman telling Leon Spinks to "back off"? Come on.

Obama has zero credibility when it comes foreign affairs. He told Syria that the use of chemical weapons would cross a red line and there would be consequences. The line was crossed and what happened? Nothing, not a thing. The President of the Unites States couldn't convince any other country to join a coalition to do anything meaningful about the banned weapons. It was Putin who told Syria to hand them over. Other leaders know that when Putin says something he means it, unlike Obama who must by now be regarded as a joke by the rest of the world.
Can't wait for the Obama followers to vent their righteous indignation at my assessment of the president's performance. I can just hear them now: "disrespectful," "hateful," "racist," all the names and invectives they can think of but can they come up with even one reasoned argument to counter my opinion? This president has shown he has a complete disconnect with reality. He still thinks he can reason and negotiate with evil, that he can just charm them into being nice, peaceful, reasonable, law-abiding people.

Somewhere in his vast educational background he must have missed the classes on world history. You know, the ones where Nero, Genghis Khan, Napoleon, Hitler, Stalin, Mao, and the endless lists of tyrants visited hell on earth to humanity century after century. Of course Obama thinks it will be different this time, after all he's special. Strange, I just don't see him as special. I see another Jimmy Carter, another Chamberlain waving a scrap of paper declaring, "This time it will be different."
Anybody want to bet me a coffee and a doughnut that this won't turn out well?

Steve Earle

Hill

 

Last Updated on Tuesday, 11 March 2014 09:50

Hits: 74

 
The Laconia Daily Sun - All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy
Powered by BENN a division of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Login or Register

LOG IN