A+ A A-

We regret we have to close the Inter-Lakes Senior Center

To The Daily Sun,

It is with deep regret that the Community Action Program Belknap-Merrimack Counties Inc. (CAPBMCI) is announcing the closing of the Inter-Lakes Senior Center in Meredith. The agency has been faced with making this very difficult decision due to rising costs and funding reductions. We would like to extend our sincere appreciation to the community for supporting the center for many years. The Senior Center would not have been possible without the support of volunteers, civic groups, business donations, local agencies and municipalities.

The Senior Center relocated to the Meredith Community Center in Apri, 2006. Senior Center activities were held at the Trinity Episcopal Church for many years.

We want to be clear that the Elder Services Department under the umbrella of CAPBMCI will continue to provide all current services for residents of Meredith, Center Harbor and New Hampton. Meals-On-Wheels participants will continue to receive their meals five days a week through the nearby Laconia Senior Center. Service will continue without a noticeable change.

It is our intention to continue the Rural Transportation Program offering rides for medical appointments, grocery shopping and other important community resources.

For a delicious mid-day meal and fellowship seniors may take part in luncheons held at any of our senior centers, such as the Laconia Senior Center. We may offer rides to Laconia for lunch as needed. Other nearby luncheons includes Tilton, Franklin, Alton or Belmont. Depending upon the interest of local seniors we are exploring the option of a new community luncheon to be held once or twice each month in the area.

The Inter-Lakes Senior Center will be closing on May 30, 2014. For information on the closing of the center please contact me, Pam Jolivette, Director of Elder Service, CAPBMCI at (603) 225-3295 or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. . For information on services after May 30, 2014, please contact Tom Menard, Laconia Senior Center manager, who may be reached at (603) 524-7689. Meals-on-Wheels referrals still go to the Meredith Area Center, CAPBMCI at (603) 279-4096.

Pam Jolivette, Director of Elder Services

Community Action Program

Belknap-Merrimack Counties Inc.

Concord

 

Last Updated on Friday, 25 April 2014 09:15

Hits: 306

Truth prevailed in the end; Gulick v. Cormier was frivolous lawsuit

To The Daily Sun,

A Victory for Truth, Justice and the Rule of Law was decided by James D. O'Neill at Laconia Superior Court on April 16,2014. Case Name: Ruth P.Gulick, et al v. Jane Cormier, et al (211-2014-CV-00034).

The definition of a lawsuit is a case in a court of law involving a claim, complaint by one party against another. A frivolous lawsuit is characterized by lack of seriousness or sense and of little or no weight, worth, or importance.

On March 3, 2014, a complaint for violation of RSA 91-A was filed in court by Ruth P. Gulick, retired attorney, Democratic Representative to the House and also the Belknap County Convention. Colette Worsman, Republican chair of the Belknap Convention and Jane Cormier, Republican clerk were named as defendants. After the filing, David O. Huot, retired lawyer and judge, Laconia rep. and convention member took over as the case name in the suit. The complaint was signed by three more Democrats, Beth Arsenault, rep. from Laconia, Ian Raymond, rep. from Sanbornton and Lisa A. DiMartino, a rep. from Gilford.

The lawsuit was definitely frivolous in context, a political maneuver to fight for a bigger Belknap County budget, without thought of the taxpayers. Did the elected Democrats have limited knowledge of RSA 91-A statute? What will happen now? Will the Belknap County taxpayers be responsible for the cost? The elections this year gives us a chance to vote for the best candidate, one who will be for We the People.

At the Hearing on April 3, it was stated the court may invalidate the action of a body, not a person. I believe the judge stated this. The plaintiffs' filed a motion to amend on April 8. The motion was granted. Another try to keep the frivolous lawsuit moving by Rep. Huot, who was arguing for the plaintiff.

Did Rep. Arsenault, on February 18, decide to bring a vote to the table knowing there were more votes for the commissioners budget? Was the stormy night a chance to facilitate the bigger budget? Did anyone object to the speaker-phone conversation of Rep. Comtois? There was stealth participation from the convention members, no one objected (RSA 91-A:2, 3a and c).

All representatives take a vow to serve the public with honesty and integrity. The truth prevailed in the end, from a N.H. Superior Court: Interested parties at a meeting are entitled to object, but are not entitled to change their decision after the meeting. Accordingly, the plaintiffs' count 1 and 2 denied.

Rosemary Landry
Meredith

Last Updated on Friday, 25 April 2014 09:11

Hits: 260

I hope you'll stand with nursing home residents & employees

To The Daily Sun,

Monday night the Belknap County Delegation (Convention) will discuss and vote on a special appropriation to provide Belknap County Nursing Home employees a modest 1.5 percent wage increase — the first increase in two years. The contract has been approved and ratified by the employees and the county commissioners. Now it is up to the county delegation to fund it.

There is unnecessary and embarrassing opposition and discord within the delegation, caused by its leadership, that is likely to unfairly victimize these nursing home employees and their new contract. I ask, will the anti-worker group that currently controls the delegation purport that their (anticipated) objection is really about the 1.5 percent wage increase, or is it more about the ongoing strife with the fair-minded, more socially responsible commissioners who oversee our county resources and responsibilities?

For more than a year, I have read about and seen their childlike behavior and shenanigans unfold. Their meetings have included name-calling, tantrums, members storming out, deception, and an overall lack of respect for the law. This is certainly not indicative of democracy, and in fact, has become an embarrassment to the people who elected these extremist legislators.

Now the dysfunctional behavior is being focused on one of our most vulnerable populations — our elderly. Nursing home residents cannot safely and fully care for themselves at home. Families make the difficult decision to move their elder loved ones to a new home for better, safer and healthier care than they can provide at home. They take a leap of faith and entrust their beloved family member to nursing home staff. And in turn, staff rise to the occasion by providing loving, attentive care for the family member.

As a 30-year Belknap County resident and as their union president, I stand up for the nursing home employees. Their work is incredibly challenging and difficult but it is also full of compassion, grace and virtue. I respect and value them more than I can express in this simple writing.

They toil around the clock to make sure the residents are clean, shaved, fed, entertained, monitored, and as physically fit as possible — and let's not forget — loved. Staff members often lift and move individuals who outweigh them and must attend to individuals' most personal hygiene needs. This is not a "day at the beach" job. And yet some members of the delegation are not supportive of a 1.5 percent pay raise. It's disgraceful and shameful that their political ideology so blatantly overshadows the needs of our most vulnerable citizens.

Nursing home residents thrive under a continuum of care provided by the same quality, loving team members. "Familiar faces" matter so much in our final days of life. A revolving-door of staff, which low wages cause, jeopardizes elderly residents of nursing homes. In order to maintain excellent care and standards, we must compensate workers at a rate that ensures they can take care of our loved ones, as well as their own. They deserve and need to earn a living wage.

Both bargaining teams — the employees' and the county's — agreed to a contract that recognizes the challenges created by the high cost of health benefits. The employees made concessions in their health benefits in order to get the modest wage increase. The employees are not money grabbing gold-diggers, much as some delegates like to portend. They simply need a fair contract to be funded so they can take care of their families while they take care of ours.

If the contract is funded, as taxpayers it will cost us less than a medium cup of coffee to help these workers feed their families. Surely the seniors in our community are worth that small sacrifice.

I hope you will stand with the Belknap County Nursing Home residents and employees. Join us at a rally of support on Monday, April 28, starting at 3:30 p.m. at the Belknap County Complex, 34 County Road, Laconia. You can also help by signing on in support at this link: http://1984.seiu.org/page/s/support-belknap-county-nursing-home-residents-and-staff.

Diana Lacey, President

SEA/SEIU Local 1984

Laconia

Last Updated on Friday, 25 April 2014 09:07

Hits: 205

Sunday, April 27 is Gold Star Mother's Day in New Hampshire

To The Daily Sun,

During the First World War, in May 1918, President Woodrow Wilson approved the suggestion of the Women's Committee of National Defenses recommending that American women should wear a black band on the upper left arm adorned with a gold star. Each star representing a family member who had given his or her life for their country. President Woodrow Wilson first used the term "Gold Star Mother" in his letter to the Women's Committee.

The mothers of New Hampshire's fallen heroes have made the ultimate sacrifice for human freedom, and we owe them the most profound debt of gratitude. More than anyone, they bear the deep emotional burden and loss of those who have laid down their lives for the cause of liberty. New Hampshire owes these dignified and graceful mothers of freedom our deepest admiration and our promise that the sacrifice of their children will never be forgotten.

To assure that their children would not be forgotten, in 1999, Gov. Jeanne Shaheen signed into law RSA 4:13-h: "Gold Star Mother's Day, "calling for ...the proper observance of the first Sunday after Easter which shall be known as Gold Star Mother's Day recognizing and honoring all mothers who have lost sons or daughters while on duty in the United States armed forces. The governor shall urge the citizens of the state to observe this day with appropriate events..."

Each year, this observance is an opportunity to offer our solemn respect to Gold Star Mothers and renew our ongoing pledge that America will always remember those who died while wearing the uniform of the United States and forever honor their families' sacrifice.

In the words of President Franklin D. Roosevelt in 1944: "There is nothing adequate which anyone in any place can say to those who are entitled to display the gold star in their windows America lives in freedom.

Karen Thurston
Blue Star Mothers of N.H.

Gilford

Last Updated on Thursday, 24 April 2014 09:44

Hits: 146

Renewable energy has become politically correct boondoggle

To The Daily Sun,

Profiles in courage defined John Kennedy. Profiles in cowardice describe Barack Obama.

Once again Obama has kicked the can down the road on the Keystone pipeline to placate environmental advocates who hold sway in key Senate elections in November. The delay has not only drawn the wrath of conservatives, but union construction workers who are the really big losers. They are the ones missing out on tens of thousands of new, high-paying jobs while Obama plays politics first. It is no wonder why working-class Americans by majority have become a key voting segment for the Republican Party over the past 25 years.

If a good job is a key to happiness and security, Main Street knows, who best provides those opportunities (and who stonewalls them).
After an exhaustive two-year investigation, the U.S. State Department issued an exhaustive report suggesting the Keystone posed little environmental threat while giving its approval to proceed. The U.S. has dozens of pipelines that cross the border with Canada.

America has tens of thousands of miles of pipelines that crisscross every state in the country like veins in the human body. These pipelines are the life blood of our economy. They provide the gas for our automobiles and the heat for our homes. Obama uses the Keystone as a "dog bone" to reward deep-pocketed, political donors to the Democratic Party.

Renewable energy has become a politically and socially correct boondoggle. All it has done is killed tens of thousands of high-paying jobs in the fossil fuel industry, increasing our debt through a complex maze of generous federal and state subsidies that obfuscate the REAL and true cost of alternative energy generation. The cost comparison of alternative energy sources like wind and are now at all-time highs compared to fossil fuels, most especially natural gas. Wind energy has never been more expensive that it is today. These billions in hidden subsidies that totally distort the true cost of energy to the consume are going to mega size corporations most all of which are based in Europe.

If global temperatures can rise unabated from carbon emissions (a theory still hotly debated scientifically) then the likelihood we are all headed to be fried chicken without being rolled in the colonels secret batter is a strong possibility, no matter how many wind mills the U.S. erects, or how many thousands of square miles we cover with solar cells.

It took America 150 years to create 1 billion tons of coal burning capacity annually. The Chinese just did it in 10. They are on target to add another billion in the next eight years. China still has hundreds of millions of people who have yet to experience the joy of a single light bulb in their home. Coal is cheap and abundant in China.

Listen carefully. All we are doing with federal subsidies to alternative energy is hiding the real costs, which to this day are uncompetitive with fossil fuels with little likelihood they ever will be. After decades of searching to make them less costly nothing has ever been found to make them practical competitively.

The German government just announced recently it was slashing its renewable energy subsidies because high energy costs from renewable energy are causing them to lose billions in business on global markets. That is what is coming to America.

Lost business and more lost jobs from high renewable energy costs and beautiful mountain tops pock-marked with windmills that only make sense to run if government hands endless billions to their European owners.
Tony Boutin
Gilford

Last Updated on Thursday, 24 April 2014 09:36

Hits: 126

 
The Laconia Daily Sun - All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy
Powered by BENN a division of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Login or Register

LOG IN