A+ A A-

Every BC Nursing Home resident received a beautifully wrapped gift

To The Daily Sun,

Christmas was a lot brighter at the Belknap County Nursing Home due the kindness of employees from the Inns at Mill Falls and parishioners of St. Andre Bessette Catholic Church. Every resident received a gift, each beautifully gift wrapped, thanks to these wonderful employees and parishioners. Mill Falls employees, who have been doing this for the past 10 years, purchased lovely gifts for approximate 50 residents. The church members began helping out several years ago and purchased gifts for the remaining residents.
Phil Rowley played the part of Santa and passed out all the gifts at a party held on December 20. Phil has been volunteering at the nursing home every Tuesday for several years, providing room visits, assisting on outings and conducting men's groups. He is truly loved by the residents.
The nursing home is a 94 bed facility, and coordinating, purchasing and wrapping so many gifts is a huge undertaking, so the staff is very grateful for the kindness of these wonderful people. It was wonderful to see the smiles on the faces as Santa handed out the gifts and packages were opened.
Many thanks to each of them for showing the true meaning of Christmas.
The Staff of Belknap County Nursing Home

Last Updated on Friday, 17 January 2014 01:10

Hits: 178

Establishment GOP wants nothing to do with principled conservatives

To The Daily Sun,

Just an observation from yesterday's LDS. I admire brevity, and Don Irvin you did it!

Jane Cormier and I are NOT friends, but I am voting for Joe Kenney for Executive Councilor. Joe is a good man, a Marine of many years. Heck, he was in Afghanistan within the past two years as a Marine.

This is a good time to point out the truth to Don, and other voters who are not voting for my guy Joe. The GOP is in shambles nationwide. And yes here in N.H. Problem is, the GOP has no identity, has no message, no record of trying to save America from Obama Socialism — AND worst of all, the Elites, the Establishment, the RINOs want nothing to do with principled conservatives, Christians, a group called the Tea Party, Sarah Palin, Allen West, Ben Carson,Ted Cruz, Mike Lee, and my grandchildren!

For some reason I think of Don being a fiscal conservative in Belmont. I would like to know how Jane can bring you to the point of withholding your vote from an excellent candidate like Joe Kenney.

Niel Young

Laconia

Last Updated on Friday, 17 January 2014 01:06

Hits: 431

Perhaps Sen. Hosmer should demand money be returned to road fund

To The Daily Sun,
As the legislative session of 2014 begins, the buzz in the State Capital centers mostly on state revenues and budgets. One of the larger issues, is the surplus of $72.2 million. State Senator Jeanie Forrester, recommends ( LaconiaDaily Sun 1/4/14) that $15 million of the $72.2 million be transferred to the "Rainy Day Fund" as required by law. In my opinion, this is a logical move and makes sound business sense for two reasons:
1. It builds a good foundation for those times in which the state is faced with unplanned crises, and
2. he R.D.F. supports a favorable bond rating, not only the state, but the state's municipalities as well. Yet, according to the Josiah Bartlett Center for Public Policy, in years past, many politicians have lacked the will or more importantly the discipline to follow the law.
A case in point: Senator Hosmer of Laconia, a Democrat, in response to Senator Forrester's recommendation, dismisses the intent of the "law" and thinks the money should be available for the Department of Transportation for roads. However, according to the Granite Status News (May 20) and the Department of Transportation, the state is currently spending $600 million a year on roads and bridges — figure Mr. Hosmer conveniently leaves out of the discussion. Moreover, since the Rainy Day Fund was established in 1987, there have been six governors in office. Of those six, two were Democrats who removed monies from the fund. Gov. Shaheen withdrew $37 million dollars and Gov. Lynch pulled nearly $80 million from the fund to cover his huge budget deficit in '09. Gov. Lynch also raided the road toll fund of $8 million, money that could have been used for road and bridges. If Mr. Hosmer is so insistent on spending, and not following the law, perhaps he should contact former Gov. Lynch, and demand the money be returned to the road toll fund.
We already know, governor's and certain legislators have a penchant for disregarding the law and the state's Constitution, but the public, expects legislators to follow the law and act in a fiduciary manner that promotes good public policy.
George Hurt
Gilford

Last Updated on Friday, 17 January 2014 01:02

Hits: 246

Does she think rest of us haven't experienced take-home pay cuts?

To The Daily Sun,

Who wouldn't like a 4 percent increase in their pay scale? Is it a barebone plan? I certainly would love a 62 percent increase in the employer share of my health care. As a retired person, my Social Security COLA went without an increase in 2010 and 2011, and only in 2012 and 2013 did we get a modest increase of 1.5 percent. My pension has not seen a cost of living increase in over four years.

What about the taxpayers? I see no concern for us at the Belknap commissioners meetings, except from the convention delegates.Colette Worsman has always been front and center for we the taxpayers. I applaud her energy for lower taxes.

We the taxpayers should be shouting how can we afford this! Where will the money come from when our pockets are being emptied by increases in health care, food, gas, and housing. We should be calling the commissioner's office and voicing our concerns at 527-5400.

What about the taxpayers? What is happening in their family lives? Will the 4 percent increase with health care benefits effect their pocket books? Each town/city has seen its own tax increase. If you add them together, the percentage is extremely high. The budget in Meredith for example includes a increase of 1.25 percent for salary adjustments for all 72 employees, together with a step increase of 2.5 percent for 60 eligible employees. Property taxes are projected to increase 4.2 percent.

A statement by Ms. Deborah Shackett, Belknap County administrator: "Nominal wage increases included in this budget will not come close to making up for the decreasing take home pay for all employees over the past three years." My question to Ms Shackett is, do you really think the residents of Belknap County can be excluded from your statement?

I would like to address another issue, which is one of respect for one another and their opinion. Rep. Dennis Fields has been disruptive at the meetings. His insulting behavior toward the chairwoman of the delegation, Colette Worsman is unacceptable and unconscionable. Mr. Fields should come to the meeting with new ideas and a mind-conscious vision of how to solve problems, instead of insulting remarks. The meetings are about facts and data, not approval from the commissioners! The budget is not about small money or pennies as stated by Representative Gulick! We the taxpayers are the main source of the money, and this is not addressed by the commissioners!

Another alarming incident occurred when Colette Worsman greeted Commission Chair John Thomas, and said "Hey how are you?" His response was, "Go to Hell." This is unethical and unacceptable from an elected official! This is verbal abuse and an immediate apology should be expressed to Colette and printed in the newspaper! Voters please remember this in the next voting cycle.

Rosemary Landry
Meredith

Last Updated on Wednesday, 15 January 2014 12:33

Hits: 251

This has nothing to do with buying beer or Dunkin' Donuts

To The Daily Sun,
Representative David Huot, in The Daily Sun, wrote a commentary on Medicaid expansion. In his colloquy, he attempted to demonstrate why the State
of N.H. should accept more federal money for Medicaid. However, Rep. Huot drifts away from explaining the real reason of not expanding Medicaid and in
doing so, faults the N.H. Senate and in particular the Republicans for the delay. However, Rep. Huot, as a learned jurist, knew or should have known, the U.S. Supreme Court in upholding the Affordable Care Act—stated "the Government cannot withhold Medicaid funds from the states, if the state(s) decide whether or not to implement the Medicaid expansion". Hence, the Medicaid money will be available when the state decides to accept the funds.

Furthermore, it strikes me as odd that Rep. Huot attempts to confuse the real intent of providing health insurance coverage and the need for Medicaid funding. For instance, he claims there are 58,000 citizens who can't afford health insurance. Yet, according to the N.H. Center for Public Policy, 34,000 of those 58,000 citizens already have private insurance. He further mentions, the regular consumer who buys beer and Dunkin' Donuts should do more of it. The reasoning: the more they spend, the more the meals and room tax contributes to the state's General Fund.

I think we can agree, most consumers and businesses alike, purchase medical insurance coverage with earned dollars, because they wish to. This has nothing to do with buying beer or Dunkin' Donuts, which brings us to the central issue of Representative Huot's commentary.

When David Huot was a judge — prior to his most recent foray into the political arena— he qualified for free medical and dental insurance. And at that
time, judges made no payment or contribution for this coverage. Somehow by a way of custom or design, this coverage was and is currently funded by the state's General Fund. Now it becomes clear, the reasoning for buying beer and Dunkin' Donuts.
In my opinion, it is one thing for Rep. Huot to suggest the current Medicaid system needs more money, but it is quite another, to be critical of Senate
Republicans who wish not to burden the state taxpayers with more debt, while Rep. Huot enjoys free medical insurance supported by all of the taxpayers.

Kevin Leandro
Gilford

Last Updated on Wednesday, 15 January 2014 12:28

Hits: 179

 
The Laconia Daily Sun - All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy
Powered by BENN a division of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Login or Register

LOG IN