A+ A A-

Joe Kenney is fiscally conservative & will ensure funds aren't wasted

To The Daily Sun,
Please join me Tuesday at the polls and vote for Joe Kenney. Tuesday, January 21, is the Primary Election to select the Republican candidate to run for the Executive Council seat formerly held by Ray Burton.
Joe Kenney's 14 years the New Hampshire Legislature, 34 years in the U.S. Marines, and term as chairman of the Wakefield Board of Selectmen demonstrate his commitment to service to his community, our state, our nation, and to the American people.
Joe Kenney's experiences in local and state government make him uniquely qualified to fulfill the duties of an Executive Councilor, overseeing contracts and the operations of our state government. Joe knows how our government works and how to get things done right. Joe is fiscally conservative and therefore naturally committed to ensuring that taxpayer money is not wasted.
Joe Kenney is committed to helping people solve their problems with government just like he did while in the Legislature. Joe's experience in business and government provide a basis for both understanding people's problems and for getting them solved.
Only Joe Kenney has been a State Representative and State Senator and only Joe is committed to being a full time Executive Councilor. Please join me at the polls next Tuesday and vote for Joe Kenney for Executive Councilor.
Don Ewing
Meredith

Last Updated on Friday, 17 January 2014 10:10

Hits: 186

I shouldn't have to fill out IRS form to have city pay my court costs

To The Daily Sun,

In the Laconia Ward 5 Primary on September 10, 2013 for Ward 5 City Councilor, there was a mistake made by the city for the write-in results. Tom Tardif received three write-in votes that were not recorded. I was forced to take the city to court to have a recount. The recount proved that he received three write-in votes which gain him a spot on the ballot.

The only issue before the court is payment of the my court costs, which at this point is only a $250 filing fees, a $28.78 sheriff service fee and $1.98 in postage, for a total of $280.76.

On November 19, 2013 there was a hearing on costs and the defendant, Laconia City Clerk Mary Reynolds, failed to appear. The court order: "Based on the failure to appear, the plaintiff's request for award of costs is GRANTED." The City Clerk filed a Motion for Reconsideration claiming that she did not receive a notice for the November 19th hearing. In her response she states, "Nonetheless, the city recognizes the importance of having every vote count, and remains willing to reimburse him for his out of pocket costs incurred in connection with this matter. However, pursuant to city policy, in order for the city to do so, it requires receipts documenting those costs. It also requires that Mr. Gammon complete a W-9 form pursuant to Internal Control Policy. The city is well within its rights to require a W-9 Form. Whether the city's payment to petitioner is income is a determination he will have to make with his tax advisor. To the extent that it is, the city is required to file an informational return, and to obtain petitioner's tax identification number. The city requires an IRS W-9 Form only for vendors according to their "Internal Control Policy updated 10/10/. "

I am not a vendor. If I need a tax advisor that should be part of the cost to bring this action.

It is a U.S. and N.H. Constitutional Right to have every vote count. Court costs are not income. An IRS W-9 Form is related to income. This is not income.

The City Clerk is wasting your taxpayer money by having the Laconia City Attorney go to Concord for another hearing on January 21, 2014. Only to force me to fill out an IRS W-9 Form which says, "Under penalties of perjury, I certify that: 2. I am not subject to backup withholding because: (a) I am exempt from backup withholding," Return of court costs has nothing to do with backup withholdings.

I would perjure myself by filling out an IRS W-9 Form. By not doing so would be forced to appeal this to the New Hampshire Supreme Court if the court requires an IRS W-9 Form for return of my court costs.

David Gammon
Laconia

Last Updated on Friday, 17 January 2014 10:02

Hits: 351

Neigher Mr. Wiles nor I are likely to change opinions of any readers

To The Daily Sun,

A number of weeks ago, Mr. Wiles submitted a letter to this forum in which he claimed that racism was "no longer a problem." But in each of his next two follow-up letters, he acknowledges "right-wing bloggers and radio hosts on the fringe of society with racist intent" (are Beck and Limbaugh considered "fringe"?) and racist groups "so on the fringe" they "have been condemned by all of civil society." He claims, "They do not represent the conservative view" and "can be found in both political extremes." With these acknowledgements, Wiles is confirming my contention that racism still exists and plays a roll in modern day politics. For every vocal racist "on the fringe" there are thousands of quiet racists in the mainstream who are not shouting racial epithets or actively discriminating against people of color.

He continues by citing former Texas Representative Ron Paul's racist comments newsletters distributed by his office as "very bad indeed." Then Wiles tries to mitigate the offensive rhetoric by asking if I've heard or witnessed Ron Paul making racist comments; are Paul's statements to be considered less offensive because I didn't personally witness them. Are we to believe that he never reviewed the newsletters that bore his name? And then he has the audacity to claim he has "no idea" how racist comments made it into print. It's hard to believe that a man who wanted to oversee the entire U.S. government would provide zero oversight of his publications, or even better, read them from time to time.

Wiles goes to great lengths to defend the, "I don't have to make black people's lives better with taxpayer money" statement by former Sen. Rick Santorum. While I must agree with some of the arguments Wiles presents, I am disturbed that Santorum singled out blacks specifically as being recipients of assistance through federal benefit programs. With the latest research, provided by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, blacks and whites make up a roughly equal percentage of welfare recipients, showing that blacks receive 39.8% of welfare assistance and whites are receiving 38.8%. Why did Santorum not mention whites? It may be because welfare has been a racialized issue for decades?

As Wiles often does, he tells those with opposing views something they didn't think, what they didn't believe, or what they didn't say. I am not familiar with the Southern Poverty Law Center, which he arrogantly infers that I research. And I'm not sure why he mentions the difficulty of finding any reference to "white on black crimes", other than possibly to highlight that blacks are more racist than whites. If this was his intent, it just substantiates my views that racism does exist on both sides of the color line. In the same vain, Wiles misrepresents my views by attributing a quote to me that I never stated. I did say that "attributing the success of members of one race to that of another race is considered racist", but I never said, as Wiles contends, "they are only successful because white folks 'allowed' them to be." This statement by Wiles is a deliberate attempt to undermine my credibility and distort my views.

As far as letting "the readers decide who's opinion has more validity"; I believe the readers of this forum have already formed strong opinions and nothing Wiles or I can say can alter them.

L. J. Siden
Gilmanton

Last Updated on Friday, 17 January 2014 01:24

Hits: 162

We continue to fight for the Hathaway House; make your voice heard

To The Daily Sun,

Five years ago the Laconia Heritage Commission was formed to oversee the preservation of historic properties in our community. One of the main reasons that it was formed at that time was over the community's concern for the preservation of the historic Hathaway House. The house had been bought by the DUNKIN' DONUTS franchise owner Cafua Management. Due to the city's concerns for the Hathaway House, the site plan for the new DUNKIN' DONUTS was revised to save this building. Promises were made by Mr. Greg Nolan, representing Cafua and DUNKIN' DONUTS, that the Hathaway House would be maintained and painted. This was not done. After a while there was a "For Sale or Lease" sign put on the property. Inquiries went unanswered.

Mr. Nolan and DUNKIN' DONUTS have been lying to the citizens of Laconia for the past five years. Not only was the Hathaway House not maintained, it was allowed to crumble into disrepair. In October of this year they even had someone smash out windows to make the building look worse.

For the past three months the Heritage Commission has been picketing in front of the DUNKIN' DONUTS on Union Avenue in order to point out to the community that the owners of this DUNKIN' DONUTS LIED to all of us. We have never wavered in our desire to save this beautiful old Victorian.

A demolition application has been filed by the DUNKIN' DONUTS franchisee.
The Heritage Commission would like to thank all the people who have signed our petitions, honked their car horns, even brought us coffee from other establishments. We need your help one more time. Please come to the Public Hearing on Wednesday, January 22, at 6:30 p.m. in city council chambers to voice your support one more time for the Hathaway House. Don't allow the out of town DUNKIN' DONUTS owner get away with destroying this historic landmark that means so much to the citizens of Laconia. We will continue to fight, make your voices heard.
Pam Clark, Chair

Laconia Heritage Commission

Last Updated on Friday, 17 January 2014 01:19

Hits: 220

Hurt's Turkey Farm & George'sDiner made Vet Holiday Dinner possible

To The Daily Sun,

On Saturday December 28, the Sons of the American Legion, Post 33 in Meredith hosted a Veteran's Holiday Dinner. There were several veterans from the Tilton Home attending, along with many local veterans. A great meal was served to all and we would like to thank Hart's Turkey Farm Restaurant and George's Diner for their continued support of this annual tradition.
We would also like to thank The Ladies Auxiliary and all others that volunteered to help with the event.

John Fessenden

Sons of the American Legion

Post 33 - Meredith

Last Updated on Friday, 17 January 2014 01:14

Hits: 148

 
The Laconia Daily Sun - All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy
Powered by BENN a division of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Login or Register

LOG IN