A+ A A-

Ralph Rathjen is right person for opening on Sanbornton BudCom

To the editor,
Write-in Ralph Rathjen for Sanbornton Budget Committee.
As a community, we always try to encourage residents to become involved in the process of government through expanded participation to all our boards and committees, ensuring better representation by more people and not just the same dedicated, reliable and over worked volunteers. We invite and welcome people with a variety of backgrounds, to offer new eyes with a fresh look, in this case, to our review of past budgets and future budget planning
Ralph and his family moved to Sanbornton in 2010, on the property between Upper and Lower Bay Roads, which they farm under the name " KREBS Farm", on Upper Bay Road. This is where the Rathjen's have chosen to retire and live the "Rural Sanbornton Dream", as they plan and plant the land to produce the best products possible. As a family, the Rathjens have quickly become involved in the community through the library, old home days, farmers markets, Farm to Restaurant Connection, Heritage Farm and the NH Food Bank.
I believe that Ralph Rathjen is the right person for the opening on the Budget Committee, at this time. He has extensive experience in financial analysis and has served on a number of advisory and finance boards over the years. In his present endeavors he has proven the ability to appreciate the present needs and the vision to plan for the future, under unpredictable conditions.
This is exactly who Sanbornton needs, as we come slowly out of the recent difficult economic times. Ralph is the person with "fresh eyes" and "vision" to work for the "best interest" of we the taxpayers.
I encourage you to join me, and Write-in Ralph Rathjen for Budget Committee on May 14th.
Steven Ober
Sanbornton

Last Updated on Saturday, 11 May 2013 12:55

Hits: 372

Question still out there; why need for mass destruction weapons

To the editor,
Dear Don Ewing:
I am still awaiting your answer as to why people in this country have to arm themselves with weapons of mass destruction. You have had more than a week to answer those of us who are puzzled as to why people need high power weaponry.
A timely answer would be greatly appreciated.
Bernadette Loesch
Laconia

Last Updated on Saturday, 11 May 2013 12:46

Hits: 244

Only competition lowers prices naturally, not the government

To the editor,
Johan Andersen of Gilford wrote recently on health care and its costs. His thinking typifies the same "lost in outer space" logic Jimmy Veverka often illustrates when he puts his crayons to paper. Johan suggests we all would be happier if health care cost less. If only the people in health care would just agree to accept lower wages our troubles would disappear.
Like Jimmy, Johan produces some incredible comedic material while attempting to write straight stuff. If problem solving was as simple as asking people to take wage cuts wouldn't it be nice if the people working in the oil industry took a pay cut allowing expensive gasoline to cost less. Wouldn't it be nice if teachers and professors took a 25 percent pay cut so taxpayers and parents didn't have to go BROKE trying to educate their kids. Johan's logic reveals his COMPLETE lack of understanding of how economics and free enterprise works. Wouldn't it be nice if an ice cream cone cost less... just slash the wages of those working a Dairy Queen to make it happen. Come on Johan ,use your noggin for something besides a hat rack. The price of items and servicers are a function of what they are worth in society on a comparative basis. They reflect the value the market place puts on them between a willing buyer and a willing seller.
WORSE. . . government often sticks it's pig snout in to DISTORT competitive free markets that continually determine the fair value of all goods and services. This creates government/business/collusion/cronyism that hurts all of us. Government interference in private enterprise does nothing but drive up costs or CREATE self-induced SHORTAGES of that product or service. If something is worth a dollar in the real world and government demands it cost 50 cents, I guarantee you that product will soon be IMPOSSIBLE to find. No one will accept LESS than their skills are worth under capitalism for very long. In addition, investors and risk takers, the required INGREDIENTS to lower the cost of anything, run for the hills when prices are artificially held back by government.
Health care is expensive for countless reasons that go far beyond what doctors or nurses make in wages. Why isn't Johan screaming at Democrats for not promoting LIMITS on tort judgments in health care? It is a well known fact that hundreds of billions of dollars are urinated out the window annually to pay for tests prescribed by doctors to COVER their rears legally from an army of ambulance-chasing lawyers. Doctors do not have to take a pay cut, nor any one else in health care, to have costs drop. That government DICTATES cuts for them will only reduce health care availability and dilute the quality of care.
There is nothing better to lower costs for ANYTHING than improved efficiency. It is ONLY more competition that reduces prices NATURALLY. Lasik eye surgery is the perfect example. Prices keep dropping from intense competition because government has kept its snout out. What is GOVERNMENT doing in general health care? KILLING COMPETITION while cramming down 3,000 pages of NEW rules, regulations and ENORMOUS TAXES that will have ONE RESULT — HIGHER COSTS. Even Obama admits Obamacare will do NOTHING to reduce health care costs for the typical middle class American family. That you suggest we arbitrarily CUT THE PAY of workers in a particular industry because you do not like the costs is pure funny page material.
The NEW Obamacare has 100,000 codes (up from 16,000) to define what health service a doctor or hospital has provided. Did you get hurt in a chicken coop or a pig sty — they have different codes. Did you bump into the light pole from the left or right — they have different codes. It will take tens of millions of man hours from the health care industry to SIMPLY COMPLY with the reports and regulations of Obamacare, costing HUNDREDS of billions of dollars that provide ZERO HEALTH CARE TO even ONE person but will make the cost of health care RISE. Then we have people like Johan walking the world suggesting the only way to reduce health care costs is to cut doctor and nurse wages. A comedy writer could not produce funnier material than his.
Tony Boutin
Gilford

Last Updated on Saturday, 11 May 2013 12:43

Hits: 366

Granite State Future forum was not about sharing opinions

To the editor,
I want to compliment you on the very accurate article in your May 8, 2013 edition titled: At Granite State Futures Talk, Tensions Over Competing Perspectives.
I attended the meeting because I wanted to hear ideas from other Lakes Region citizens, and I wanted to see if N.H. Listens was going to employ the unethical Delphi Technique. I'm pleased to report I wasn't disappointed on either account.
I didn't witness any tension in my small discussion cell, but it could have been present in one of the other six or seven gathering circles, if that's what you want to call them. You see, the folks at N.H. Listens don't allow everyone in the room to hear what everyone has to say. They divide and conquer. That strategy worked pretty darned well for Caesar.
N.H. Listens uses a facilitated meeting format when they host these Granite State Futures meetings. They advertise the meetings telling citizens that if they attend, their opinions will be included so that all in New Hampshire can hear what you have to say.
Guess what? That doesn't happen, not by a long shot. You see when you get Delphied, as did 116 people who attended — I left myself out of the count because I know how to resist all the psychological tricks that N.H. Listen employs at these facilitated meetings — you have a better chance of landing a 15-pound lake trout in Opeechee Bay than you have of all of your opinions being shared.
Here's why. Each discussion cell, usually made up of about 8 to 12 people, meets on their own for nearly 90 minutes. Believe me, lots of opinions about lots of topics are talked about in that amount of time. But at the end of the meeting, each discussion cell gives a very very brief summary of just a few of their discussion points. Each summary, read aloud to the entire group, only lasts about two minutes, maybe three. You can't say much in 150 seconds.
If you were at the meeting and you put forth five or six stellar ideas, there's a good chance not one of them made it into the final summary. Doesn't that stink? I wouldn't call that "listening", would you? I'd call that ignoring.
Also, the N.H. Listens group provided a handout filled with biased talking points that each cell was to use to "guide" the discussion. This is also classic textbook Delphi Technique. The meetings N.H. Listens runs, like the one in Laconia on Tuesday night, all have a predetermined outcome based on the discussion points and the plants they summon to attend the meeting.
For example, there was a section in the handout about global warming that contained all this biased data about how the Lakes Region and New Hampshire are in peril! Nowhere in the handout did they talk about the four periods of Continental Glaciation that occurred here in North America in the past two million years.
Do you want proof of what a good job Mother Nature can do when it comes to climate change? Visit Mt. Major and you'll see a glacial erratic boulder that weighs hundreds of tons that was dropped there by the last glacier that was here just 15,000 years ago! Or drive up through Franconia Notch on I-93. See the shape of the notch right where the Old Man used to look down? That's a classic glacial carved valley.
Now tell me, how much climate change does it take to create ice thousands of feet thick that stretched from Cape Cod back up to the North Pole? And then how much climate change does it take to melt it with no factories, buses, trucks or man around? See my point how the Delphi Technique is unethical?
Finally, at the end of our meeting it was time to select a spokesperson for our cell. I volunteered. No one else in our group volunteered. The facilitator of our group was a young woman named Molly trained in the ways of the Delphi Technique by N.H. Listens. She tried her best to not have me be the spokesperson. When we voted, I got eight out of the ten votes, but she only counted five.
After a boisterous protest from myself and two others, she finally backed down. Talk about unprofessional. I can't for the life of me figure out why she didn't want me to be the spokesperson for the group.
Well, honestly I can. I've sort of developed a reputation here in the community of telling the truth about what's going on with this Granite State Futures initiative and the unethical behavior of N.H. Listens group. I'm sure all the facilitators were warned I'd be at the meeting.
If you want to discover more truth and facts about the Granite State Futures project and see a video about the Delphi Technique being used at a N.H. Listens meeting that happened in Plymouth about two months ago, you should visit a website I discovered about a month ago. Go to: www.GraniteStateFutures.org
P.S. If you don't believe me about the Delphi Technique and NH Listens, just go to Bing.com and type in "delphi technique". If you were at the meeting on Tuesday night in Laconia with me, you'll probably be pretty upset when you discover you were flimflamed.,
Tim Carter
Meredith

Last Updated on Saturday, 11 May 2013 12:38

Hits: 313

Time in voting booth will still be a lot shorter than town meeting

To the editor,
A recent letter from a Sanbornton resident stated that Sanbornton voters entering the voting booth after SB-2 is approved, would take too long. It expressed the concern that residents would show up to vote not having any previous knowledge of what is being voted on. And it also maintained that reading all the warrant articles and proposed budget items in the privacy of a voting booth could cause delays in voting.
This is a rather insulting assumption and perhaps the writer should apologize to all the voters of Sanbornton.
Any resident/ taxpayer of Sanbornton knows that all the warrant and budget information is available weeks before voting day. First the proposed budget is reviewed at a public meeting held by the town Budget Committee and the public is invited to ask questions and is offered a copy of the proposed budget. Secondly the warrant and budget information is available on the town website. Last but not least, there are copies of the town's Annual Report available at the town office and Library. These contain all the information needed to make an informed decision.
And as far as delays go, no matter how long a wait at the election booth, it will still be a heck of a lot shorter than the time spent at a town meeting!
Sanbornton voters — please vote YES on Question #1 on election day Tuesday May 14th from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Bill Whalen
Sanbornton

Last Updated on Saturday, 11 May 2013 12:28

Hits: 266

 
The Laconia Daily Sun - All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy
Powered by BENN a division of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Login or Register

LOG IN