A+ A A-

Comprehensive Immigration Reform will harm most Americans

To the editor,
Soon Congress will decide what to do about 11 to 33 million illegal aliens who are only here because politicians didn't enforce our laws and didn't keep their promises to close the border and end illegal immigration. Few other issues more clearly show the difference between government for the people and government for the special interests. Illegal aliens harm Americans in many ways, e.g., by criminal acts, by stressing schools and hospitals, by taking jobs and depressing wages, and by forcing higher taxes to fund welfare for illegal aliens and the American workers they harm.
Illegal aliens benefit businesses, government workers and their unions, criminals, politicians and various special interests.
Politicians say we need the "Gang of Eight's" Comprehensive Immigration Reforms (created with input from special interest groups but not from law enforcement (ICE)). I have a bridge to sell to anyone who believes this bill will fix the illegal alien problem or benefit most Americans.
They say illegal aliens will pay back-taxes and fines. The typical illegal alien has a 10th grade education and competes with the lowest income Americans. People with these incomes don't pay federal taxes, they get subsidies. Will they pay any meaningful fines? No. The subsidies they receive will greatly exceed any taxes or fines they pay.
Politicians say illegal aliens won't be eligible to upgrade from their limited welfare worth $14,387 (in excess of the taxes they pay) to full welfare benefits, provided by real taxpayers, worth $35,113 per household for 13 years. This won't be enforced. Illegals shouldn't get welfare now!
Politicians say illegals must go to the back of the line for citizenship. Want to bet? Politicians say their plan isn't amnesty. Maybe they're right. Rewarding, rather than penalizing, people for breaking our laws is far worse than just amnesty, it's amnesty plus!
Politicians say we can't be tough on illegal aliens because it hurts their children. Maybe they think we shouldn't imprison robbers, rapists, and murderers because it hurts their children...?
Politicians say they will build the fence and stop illegal immigration. They broke these promises before. Where is the fence they promised just a few years ago? They shouldn't get to deceive us again.
The "Gang of Eight's" Comprehensive Immigration Reform will continue to harm most Americans. It's time to stand up for American citizens, not let them be harmed to benefit illegal aliens, politicians, businessmen, and other special interest groups.
Tell Senators Ayotte and Shaheen, Congresswomen Kuster and Shea-Porter, and President Obama to reject Comprehensive Immigration Reform and all its false promises. Just close the border, stop all taxpayer provided subsidies for illegal aliens, and enforce severe penalties for knowingly employing illegal aliens.
Don Ewing
Meredith

Last Updated on Monday, 27 May 2013 05:24

Hits: 293

Please say, 'I chose Franklin VNA & Hospice', this is your VNA

To the editor,
Franklin VNA & Hospice has proudly been providing home care services to your community since 1945. Now entering the sixty-eighth year we have reaffirmed our mission statement and will continue to offer you quality home care and hospice services. This is your community. This is your VNA.
If you need home care or hospice services it is always your choice to select an agency. We work with all licensed physicians and all hospitals. The choice is always yours! Choose your community VNA.
Over the past 12-18 months, several other home care agencies have expanded their service area into our communities. This has been confusing to some of you. We have received a number of calls from community members who thought they would be receiving care from Franklin VNA & Hospice, but instead were contacted by another agency.
If a home care agency contacts you and you would prefer care from us, please tell them so. It is your right to choose.
Plan ahead! If you are going into the hospital for surgery or for a procedure and you will need home care following, call us so we can help you plan the transition home. We are specialists in home care and we want to serve any member of our community that needs assistance.
When being referred for home care or hospice, speak out. Say, "I choose Franklin VNA & Hospice". This is your VNA.
Jane White
Executive Director
Franklin VNA & Hospice

Last Updated on Monday, 27 May 2013 05:20

Hits: 296

Seeds for this feud were sown by commissioners 2 years ago

To the editor,
The post and pre-election political diatribe regarding Belknap County Convention is not justified or deserved, but not unexpected. Laws are not obscure regarding county PUBLIC BUSINESS. Clearly, the Right-to-Know is the law which keeps the public apprised of the actions of the elected official.
Other laws such as county appropriation laws require the commissioners to propose a budget. After the convention resolution of its annual budget or supplemental budgets, other laws require the commissioners to administer the individual appropriation for the individual purposes, annually.
Nothing is obscure regarding RSA 24:14, I — Appropriations by the county convention shall be itemized in detail and a record thereof shall be kept by the clerk of the convention. The executive committee of the county shall have authority to review the expenditures of the county after adoption of the county budget. Such review may occur as often as voted by the executive committee, but no less than twice each year. The convention may require the county commissioners to report once each quarter to the convention or to the executive committee the expenditures of the county as compared to the budget as voted, in such detail as determined by the convention. The county convention may require that the county commissioners obtain written authority from the executive committee before transferring any appropriation or part thereof under RSA 24:15. The county convention may adopt a policy regarding the acceptance of grants.
I-a. In this chapter, an appropriation means an amount of money authorized for a specified purpose by the legislative body.
To invoke provisions in the law requiring the county commissioners to obtain written authority from the executive committee before transferring any appropriation or part thereof under RSA 24:15 should be commended. Enforcement of laws that habitually have been considered below the historical strong commission verses the weak conventions is not usurping control.
Why has the 2013/14 convention taken action to introduce the long needed checks and balance? Back on December 06, 2010 the newly elected delegation held the convention's organizational meeting. At that meeting, following the election of officer and executive committee at-large officers, a presentation by the commission of its proposed budget for FY 2011/12 took place. No record of a "Public Hearing" is recorded.
On 20 December 2010, "the chairman (Rep. Alida Millham) reviewed the Right-to-Know Law and asked everyone to read it. Everyone understood the open, public process that will be followed."
On 14 March 2011 convention meeting re: Public Hearing on 2011 Belknap County Budget: "Rep. Accornero then asked the commissioners if they planned to do whatever they want with the stimulus money regardless of what the delegation says? He demanded a Yes or No answer. Commissioner Philpot responded by saying that they have different jobs (delegation and commissioners). It is the commissioners job to manage the affairs of the county and the day to day operations and they will not delegate that responsibility. It is what they are elected to do. The commissioners need to do their job and the delegation needs to do it's."
"Rep. Accornero followed up by again saying that the commissioners just give the delegation the budget and then they say that they will do what they want anyway. Commissioner Thomas reminded him that the commissioners have statutory responsibilities and there are statutory responsibilities of the delegation."
The line in the sand was drawn, hence began the frustration of the 2011/12 convention and the current 2013/14 convention.
No elected official shall set themselves above the Law.
Thomas A. Tardif
Laconia

Last Updated on Monday, 27 May 2013 05:15

Hits: 250

Fault on both sides of the aisle for push to deregulate derivatives

To the editor,
A recent New York Times article brought to light current legislation passed by the House Financial Services Committee. The legislation which passed with a vote of 53-6, allows for the deregulation of derivatives. This practice of deregulation was at the cornerstone of this country's financial disaster five years ago. In addition to the stupidity of repeating such policy, the legislation was largely written (70 of the 85 lines) by Citigroup. Unbelievable!
Fault can be found on both sides of the aisle. Every Democrat, Republican and independent should be outraged by the actions of the House Financial Services Committee. They may have a short memory about the country's economic downfall five years ago, but many U.S. citizens, especially the middle class have not forgotten. I encourage all citizens to research this legislation and contact ones representatives regarding your position on the matter.
Marcia Hayward
Laconia

Last Updated on Monday, 27 May 2013 04:57

Hits: 270

What's truly important is our wonderful theatre community

To the editor,
The gala opening of the New Winnipesaukee Playhouse Mainstage Theatre on our Meredith campus is happening on June 1. The completion of this wonderful new building is a major achievement. But I realized on Saturday that what we've been building for the past nine years is an even bigger achievement and one more valuable to me than our new facility. When Johanna and I left our good jobs and our good friends in the Boston area to move to central New Hampshire to an area we had only recently discovered and in which we knew nobody, we did so with the dream of finding a community of people to share our love of theatre with and to share our lives with — a theatre community if you will. We wanted to build a place where we could work together and include our children. We wanted to create a theatre organization that people would want to invest their time and passion in — onstage and off, in good times and bad.
On a Saturday of a long holiday weekend over 20 members of the Playhouse community came out to lug boxes, chairs, platforms, props, costumes, install flooring, watch our children and more for hours in the rain and cold and mud to help us get the theatre ready for June 1. They did it because they know this new theatre is their new theatre because they are part of the Winni Playhouse community. Some have been with us since the beginning and others are new to the team. Without fail, our Playhouse community is made up of selfless people who set an example for my kids to follow far better than any I could set. I am constantly amazed at how generous our supporters are with their time when we need help, and more amazingly how genuinely appreciative they are about the opportunities our little Playhouse presents to them which makes them willingly come out and spend a bleak, rainy day making our job getting ready for the opening just a little bit easier.
So while the new building IS amazing and it will be very exciting on June 1 to celebrate its opening with our friends and supporters, at the end of the day it is just a building. What's truly important to me is our wonderful and vibrant theatre community that will fill it with thrills, laughter, tears and music for years to come. Not part of it yet? What are you waiting for? Find a way to get involved — onstage, behind-the-scenes, from the audience - because believe it or not our inclusive community only gets better and better as more people get involved. And you get to be a part of some great theatre too!
A heartfelt thanks from Johanna, Lesley, Neil and I to Sue Needleman, Trevor Slauenwhite, Jim and Judi Rogato, Diane Nickerson, Diane and Chuck Fray, Tammy McGonagle, Kathleen Hill, Doreen and Matt Richards, Liz Rohdenburg, Ray and Lori Boelig, Rene Boelig, Rodney Martell, Johan Anderson, Lea and Lissa Mascio; staff members Becky Marsh, Kate Boucher and Josh Jansen who all volunteered on their day off; and family members Alan and Paula Halperin, Jonathan and Glenna Lee, Andrea Levitt and Tony Hatoun. Thank you all for spending a rainy Saturday with us.
Bryan Halperin
Meredith

Last Updated on Monday, 27 May 2013 04:54

Hits: 368

 
The Laconia Daily Sun - All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy
Powered by BENN a division of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Login or Register

LOG IN