A+ A A-

I'm sick iof candidates who will not answer direct questions

To The Daily Sun,

The special election to fill former Executive Councilor Ray Burton's vacant seat is in a few days.

I wanted to share an email experience I had over the past three weeks with one of the candidates, Christopher Boothby.

Just after Christmas Mr. Boothby sent me a fluff piece postcard — he provided contact information and his website —  I went to his website and tried to use the contact form. It was broken. I was reminded of the Obamacare website debacle.

I sent Chris an e-mail and we went back and forth several times. I asked very specific questions about the out-of-control N.H. Regional Planning Commissions. Sadly, Mr. Boothby dodged each and every one of my questions.

This experience left me with the conclusion Mr. Boothby is nothing more than the same old you-know-what wrapped in a different package.

I'm SICK of candidates who will not answer direct questions. You should be too.

I was able to get answers to my questions from Joe Kenney. Joe will be getting my vote, and that of my wife, and kids.

If you want to see the entire e-mail exchange between myself and Mr. Boothby — the dodger — just go here: http://go.timcarter.com/boothby

Tim Carter
Meredith

Last Updated on Friday, 17 January 2014 10:17

Hits: 281

Christopher Boothby loves New Hampshire as much as anyone I know

To The Daily Sun,

When I worked for Christopher Boothby years ago, I recall a time when an elderly gentleman approached him in the hospital lobby. "I've met you before. You were with Ray Burton," the man said. "I still have the note that Ray sent me." After the gentleman walked away, Christopher said, "We should all work to be more like Ray Burton. He listens. He follows-up. He is a man of his word."

In my time working for Christopher I found that he shares these same qualities. I always appreciated his honesty, tremendous work ethic and dedication to his family and friends. He is a smart businessman, effective communicator and staunch advocate for the people and organizations he represents. Even more, I always enjoyed his enthusiastic stories about his latest snowmobiling, fishing and boating adventures. He loves New Hampshire as much as anyone I know and sincerely wants to make it a better place for all of us to live, work and play.

I strongly support Christopher's candidacy for N.H. Executive Council and encourage you to join me in voting for him as the Republican nominee on Tuesday, January 21st.

Gretchen Gandini
Gilford

Last Updated on Friday, 17 January 2014 10:14

Hits: 156

Joe Kenney is fiscally conservative & will ensure funds aren't wasted

To The Daily Sun,
Please join me Tuesday at the polls and vote for Joe Kenney. Tuesday, January 21, is the Primary Election to select the Republican candidate to run for the Executive Council seat formerly held by Ray Burton.
Joe Kenney's 14 years the New Hampshire Legislature, 34 years in the U.S. Marines, and term as chairman of the Wakefield Board of Selectmen demonstrate his commitment to service to his community, our state, our nation, and to the American people.
Joe Kenney's experiences in local and state government make him uniquely qualified to fulfill the duties of an Executive Councilor, overseeing contracts and the operations of our state government. Joe knows how our government works and how to get things done right. Joe is fiscally conservative and therefore naturally committed to ensuring that taxpayer money is not wasted.
Joe Kenney is committed to helping people solve their problems with government just like he did while in the Legislature. Joe's experience in business and government provide a basis for both understanding people's problems and for getting them solved.
Only Joe Kenney has been a State Representative and State Senator and only Joe is committed to being a full time Executive Councilor. Please join me at the polls next Tuesday and vote for Joe Kenney for Executive Councilor.
Don Ewing
Meredith

Last Updated on Friday, 17 January 2014 10:10

Hits: 173

I shouldn't have to fill out IRS form to have city pay my court costs

To The Daily Sun,

In the Laconia Ward 5 Primary on September 10, 2013 for Ward 5 City Councilor, there was a mistake made by the city for the write-in results. Tom Tardif received three write-in votes that were not recorded. I was forced to take the city to court to have a recount. The recount proved that he received three write-in votes which gain him a spot on the ballot.

The only issue before the court is payment of the my court costs, which at this point is only a $250 filing fees, a $28.78 sheriff service fee and $1.98 in postage, for a total of $280.76.

On November 19, 2013 there was a hearing on costs and the defendant, Laconia City Clerk Mary Reynolds, failed to appear. The court order: "Based on the failure to appear, the plaintiff's request for award of costs is GRANTED." The City Clerk filed a Motion for Reconsideration claiming that she did not receive a notice for the November 19th hearing. In her response she states, "Nonetheless, the city recognizes the importance of having every vote count, and remains willing to reimburse him for his out of pocket costs incurred in connection with this matter. However, pursuant to city policy, in order for the city to do so, it requires receipts documenting those costs. It also requires that Mr. Gammon complete a W-9 form pursuant to Internal Control Policy. The city is well within its rights to require a W-9 Form. Whether the city's payment to petitioner is income is a determination he will have to make with his tax advisor. To the extent that it is, the city is required to file an informational return, and to obtain petitioner's tax identification number. The city requires an IRS W-9 Form only for vendors according to their "Internal Control Policy updated 10/10/. "

I am not a vendor. If I need a tax advisor that should be part of the cost to bring this action.

It is a U.S. and N.H. Constitutional Right to have every vote count. Court costs are not income. An IRS W-9 Form is related to income. This is not income.

The City Clerk is wasting your taxpayer money by having the Laconia City Attorney go to Concord for another hearing on January 21, 2014. Only to force me to fill out an IRS W-9 Form which says, "Under penalties of perjury, I certify that: 2. I am not subject to backup withholding because: (a) I am exempt from backup withholding," Return of court costs has nothing to do with backup withholdings.

I would perjure myself by filling out an IRS W-9 Form. By not doing so would be forced to appeal this to the New Hampshire Supreme Court if the court requires an IRS W-9 Form for return of my court costs.

David Gammon
Laconia

Last Updated on Friday, 17 January 2014 10:02

Hits: 334

Neigher Mr. Wiles nor I are likely to change opinions of any readers

To The Daily Sun,

A number of weeks ago, Mr. Wiles submitted a letter to this forum in which he claimed that racism was "no longer a problem." But in each of his next two follow-up letters, he acknowledges "right-wing bloggers and radio hosts on the fringe of society with racist intent" (are Beck and Limbaugh considered "fringe"?) and racist groups "so on the fringe" they "have been condemned by all of civil society." He claims, "They do not represent the conservative view" and "can be found in both political extremes." With these acknowledgements, Wiles is confirming my contention that racism still exists and plays a roll in modern day politics. For every vocal racist "on the fringe" there are thousands of quiet racists in the mainstream who are not shouting racial epithets or actively discriminating against people of color.

He continues by citing former Texas Representative Ron Paul's racist comments newsletters distributed by his office as "very bad indeed." Then Wiles tries to mitigate the offensive rhetoric by asking if I've heard or witnessed Ron Paul making racist comments; are Paul's statements to be considered less offensive because I didn't personally witness them. Are we to believe that he never reviewed the newsletters that bore his name? And then he has the audacity to claim he has "no idea" how racist comments made it into print. It's hard to believe that a man who wanted to oversee the entire U.S. government would provide zero oversight of his publications, or even better, read them from time to time.

Wiles goes to great lengths to defend the, "I don't have to make black people's lives better with taxpayer money" statement by former Sen. Rick Santorum. While I must agree with some of the arguments Wiles presents, I am disturbed that Santorum singled out blacks specifically as being recipients of assistance through federal benefit programs. With the latest research, provided by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, blacks and whites make up a roughly equal percentage of welfare recipients, showing that blacks receive 39.8% of welfare assistance and whites are receiving 38.8%. Why did Santorum not mention whites? It may be because welfare has been a racialized issue for decades?

As Wiles often does, he tells those with opposing views something they didn't think, what they didn't believe, or what they didn't say. I am not familiar with the Southern Poverty Law Center, which he arrogantly infers that I research. And I'm not sure why he mentions the difficulty of finding any reference to "white on black crimes", other than possibly to highlight that blacks are more racist than whites. If this was his intent, it just substantiates my views that racism does exist on both sides of the color line. In the same vain, Wiles misrepresents my views by attributing a quote to me that I never stated. I did say that "attributing the success of members of one race to that of another race is considered racist", but I never said, as Wiles contends, "they are only successful because white folks 'allowed' them to be." This statement by Wiles is a deliberate attempt to undermine my credibility and distort my views.

As far as letting "the readers decide who's opinion has more validity"; I believe the readers of this forum have already formed strong opinions and nothing Wiles or I can say can alter them.

L. J. Siden
Gilmanton

Last Updated on Friday, 17 January 2014 01:24

Hits: 148

 
The Laconia Daily Sun - All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy
Powered by BENN a division of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Login or Register

LOG IN