A+ A A-

Obama made his own bed, I won't stop pointing out his messes

To The Daily Sun,

Just to be clear, the definition of mudslinging, according to Random House Dictionary, is: "An attempt to discredit one's competitor, opponent, etc by malicious or scandalous attacks." Collins English Dictionary defines it as: " Casting malicious slurs on an opponent esp in politics."

So Denise Doyle feels that Russ Wiles, Don Ewing, Tony Boutin, myself "and alike do so in every letter we write."

Let's review. When Obama first became a candidate we observed he had few qualifications for president other then being a self-proclaimed constitutional scholar. (Five and a half years later that seems far less the case.) Even so, but still he had zero business experience, zero management skills, no foreign policy experience, no economics background, no military but in his own writings claimed to have been a lazy, poor student with poor grades who skipped class to smoke pot. Mud slinging? No, we only commented on it and were usually branded as racists by the left wing writers to this paper.

Speaking of racist I seem to recall Obama playing the race card on Hillary Clinton. Am I wrong Denise?

About his government experience there was the brief tenure in the Illinois State Senate and then the aborted seat in the U.S. Senate, both of which his strong positions on any important issue was to vote "Present."

As for his presidential history the highlights of which are:

1) Caving in to Putin regarding the placement of anti-missile defenses in eastern Europe. (Makes it easier for Russia to invade Georgia and Ukraine.)

2) Lies about Obamacare, roll out foul-up, misleading sign up statistics.

3) Iran still working on nukes. (Fails to get strong international sanctions.)

4) "The Arab Spring" policy. (More violence, blood and destruction all over northern Africa, Egypt, Syria, Iraq, Afghanistan and spreading as I write.)

5) Benghazi and the YouTube video lie and cover-up.

6) The IRS targeting conservatives, Louis Learner taking the Fifth before Congress, and surprise ... all of Learner"s and six other IRS employees computer records were "lost." ( Yea right!!!)

7) The VA scandal. Obama's "sacred duty to fix" while he was campaigning.

8) The Berghahl trade bungle.

9) ISIS and the Iraq crisis.

10) Fast and Furious gun running to Mexico. Attorney General Holder lied to Congress denying knowledge of scheme.

11) Illegal immigration crisis.

12) Red line in Syria, bungle. (Putin ate his lunch and made him look like a weak sister).

13) Blocking the Keystone pipeline, killing thousands of jobs.

14) Justice Department tapping the records of Associated Press reporters.

15) Atty. Gen. Holder Lied to a federal judge to get subpoena for Fox News reporter and his family. (He told the judge that James Rosen was a criminal, signed request.)

16) Atty. Gen. Holder lied to Congress regarding Fox News reporter James Rosen. Denied he knew of, or targeted Rosen.

17) Sebelius reported to have demanded "donations" from companies which HHS would be regulating. (Violation of Hatch Act).

 18) Obama gave millions to Salindra after being warned it was going to go bankrupt. (He received huge campaign donations from Salindra owners.)

19) Failed to investigate New Black Panthers voter intimidation charges. (double standard)

20) Hacking of CBS reporter, Sharyl Attkisson's computer who was investigating Benghazi.

21) NSA head lied to Congress regarding their screening every telephone and e-mail in this country

22) Obama authorized paying millions to Axelrod's PR company to promote Obamacare while Axelirod was employed in the White House. (conflict of interest?)

These are all the kinds of things we writers, Ms. Doyle accuses of mudslinging have commented on and give opinions on over the years. None of these are malicious slurs or scandalous attacks, but valid reports from reputable news organizations such as Fox News, ABC, CBS, CNN, NY Times, Washington Post, Boston Globe and dozens of others. Obama and company have made their own beds, so I will not apologize or stop making note of the mess they are making of the country. It's my right and opinion.

Oh, and thank you Ms. Doyle for proving my point.

Steve Earle

Hill

Last Updated on Wednesday, 16 July 2014 10:55

Hits: 111

President Obama wants extra $3.7 billion, but not to close border

To The Daily Sun,

Our nation's illegal alien problem exemplifies Washington's war on the American people. Washington politicians — Republicans and Democrats — have lied repeatedly about immigration and pursued policies that benefits the politicians but hurts most Americans.

Senator Ted Kennedy, who changed our immigration philosophy, told us regarding his 1965 immigration law: "The bill will not flood our cities with immigrants. It will not upset the ethnic mix of our society. It will not relax the standards of admission. It will not cause American workers to lose their jobs." But it has.

Regarding the 1986 amnesty law he promised: "We will secure the borders henceforth. We will never bring forth another amnesty bill like this." The border wasn't secured. In 2007, Senator Kennedy worked to give amnesty to about 12 million more illegals.

Politicians told us the 2006 Secure Fence Act would stop illegal border crossings. On May 10, 2011, President Obama told us that the border fence is "now basically complete." During his 2012 campaign President Obama repeatedly led us to believe the border was secure. On Feb. 4, 2013, Homeland Security Secretary Napolitano told us that the border is secure.

But the border isn't secure, Illegal aliens flood into our country. According to the N.Y. Times, almost 300,000 illegal aliens have come here just since April. About 60,000 illegal alien children have come here over the last six months creating a humanitarian nightmare and threatening the health and safety of the American people.

President Obama wants $3.7 billion to deal with the problem (but not to close the border) created by his failure to enforce our laws and by his 2012 announcement of (essentially) amnesty for most illegal alien children. (Yes, he set conditions, but illegals believe he will let them all stay here, and they are probably right.)

Americans have repeatedly told politicians to close the border. But illegal immigration benefits the politicians and they refuse to stop it. American citizens will increasingly suffer until the current politicians are replaced with people who care about American laws and American citizens.

Don Ewing

Meredith

Last Updated on Wednesday, 16 July 2014 10:49

Hits: 159

Criminal invasion of Iraq cost U.S. taxpayers about $3 trillion

To The Daily Sun,

It grieves my heart to hear the latest evaluation of the Iraq war, now 10 years old. Many in public office say, "It was a mistake!" How do we, as fellow humans, cope with the cold, calculating facts that we sent 2,300 soldiers — men and women to their death, now determined to be a worthless, wrong cause? Is human life that cheap?
A criminal invasion of the small, sovereign nation of Iraq based on charges Congress knew were totally false, but failed to speak out against, was only the beginning of deception and lies by the Bush Administration in its rush to war! In spite of its lack of validity we bombed civilians, hospitals and clinics in a total blitz! Before it was over we had killed 600,000 civilian and military alike leaving the country in shambles. It least 100,000 of this number were children.
In spite of this massive assault depicted over and over again on nightly news broadcasts: The blood spilled out on the streets: broken bodies shewn on the sidewalks unattended; women screaming for their missing children: The public and the clergy (for the most part) gave their silent consent letting the killing go on without a word of dissent. What kind of people are we? And now we arrogantly claim, it was wrong from the beginning.
Keep in mind this irrefutable fact about warfare: It is the most profitable business for industry and manufacturing — guaranteeing a steady stream of money for guns, bombs, and all the materials for so-called (war.) Military requests are hardly ever questions! The criminal invasion of Iraq costs taxpayers about 3 trillion dollars! Did you yourself, ever raise your voice against this monstrous brutality and murder? Shame on you!
I grieve the loss and my souls shrinks that we, as a nation of Christian/Judaic faith should ever have let this terrible loss happen!
There is no fault upon the soldiers that survived. They carried out their orders with bravery and honor.

Leon R Albushies
Gilford

Last Updated on Wednesday, 16 July 2014 10:44

Hits: 156

Zoning Board decisions against me were unfair & made no sense

To The Daily Sun,

In August of 2012 I went to the Laconia Planning Department to ask about a change of use for my property located at 355/357 Weirs Blvd., which is in the commercial/resort zone. This property has always been used as commercial, better known as the Boulevard Drive-In in the 1950s and then known as Ganong Real Estate and Crabby Dave's fast food during the late 1990s, and then just Ganong Real Estate.

After serious health problems, we had to close the real estate office and deal with more important things such as staying alive. Thankfully, we succeeded.

With 357 side of the building empty and unable to rent because of economic times as they are, my family decided to take a different venture called Hawaiian Shaved Ice. After two years, and for whatever reason, it was just not prosperous. The family talked and agreed we had to do something, so we contacted the city and applied for a change of use to sell used automobiles. Yes, a used car lot consisting of no more than eight automobiles at any one time. A "special exception" was required because auto sales is only permitted in commercial/resort zone by special exception.

At the first Zoning Board of Adjustment hearing on Sept. 17, 2012, I explained what I wanted to do: there would be no work on cars, no welding, no air wrenches!; there would be no mechanics work completed onsite; no compressors running all the time; no detailing of cars. . . just simply eight used cars for sale.

I explained that half the building was my residence — that is, 355 Weirs Blvd. — because of the past health issues, and I certainly would not deface the neighborhood because it is mine, too.

Yes, I was denied a special exception by the Zoning Board — three "no" votes and two "yes" votes, even though there was a used car dealership approved on January 17, 2012 on the same road — U.S. Route 3 — and in the same commercial/resort zone, by the same board. They said my request was denied because it was on the shoreline of Lake Winnipesaukee and because of the view from the road. My property is not on the shoreline, it is on Rte. 3, a major road through the state. Yes, it has a view and I pay for it in my property taxes. Is that a detriment to the property?

I appealed the zoning board decision and asked that my case by heard again. Before I went to that second meeting on November 19, 2012, I did some research on uses that are permitted without special exception in the commercial/resort zone and discovered some were by far more abrasive than a couple of tasteful used cars parked around my lot. Instead of selling cars, some of the permitted uses are a car wash or a taxi cab company — imagine eight taxi cabs hanging around my parking lot waiting for a call. . . their engines running continuously during the cold winter months. Or is a dealership a better use for my property?

If I wanted to, I could also build storage units, a night club or a porn shop. . . yes a PORN SHOP right there on Rte. 3/Weirs Blvd. Or I could sell boats. What's the difference between boats and cars? I just don't get it.

The zoning board agreed (4-0) to re-hear my case.

On January 22, 2013 — here we go again — I was off to ZBA for a second hearing. I brought legal counsel with me so that maybe he could present my case better that I had  tried to do before. He made his presentation and did a great job. He presented signed documents from a number of abutters who were in favor of what I was trying to do, taking into consideration what was permitted. Because of the way I maintain my property, we all get along.

To make a long story short, I was again denied by the majority.

I think this is very unfortunate and unfair. I truly do not understand it.

John Ganong

Laconia

 

 

Last Updated on Tuesday, 29 July 2014 01:31

Hits: 256

Sen. Shaheen knows where to go to get the N.H. opinion

To The Daily Sun,

One hundred New Hampshire military veterans gathered to show support of Sen. Shaheen, urging her re-election. Included were Gail Prince of Bedford, an Air Force veteran and former commander of the Sweeney Post in Manchester.

Prince said, "What impresses me most about Senator Shaheen is that because of her history here in New Hampshire, she knows who to reach out to in the state to get the New Hampshire position, the people's position. So when she goes back to Washington she properly represents us because she knows us."

Ken Clark of Stratham, a retired Air Force major general, and former Adjutant General of the New Hampshire National Guard said, "This is my very first time standing up at a political event and saying I'm going to be behind somebody. I spent a career making sure no one could paint me with a brush, but it is time to come out and take a stance because what is going on here is too important. We need Senator Shaheen."

Personal testimony shared at election time makes people take notice. Good. Maybe we will next witness 100 New Hampshire farmers for Shaheen and 100 beekeepers beside them. This would show she's hearing their issues and taking what action she can. If I were a New Hampshire farmer or beekeeper I'd want to know that she's working to curb Monsanto for its GMO seed products and poisons and anti-food labeling moves (Monsanto is taking neighboring Vermont to court on this). Then I'd be a farmer or beekeeper testifying for her and watching to see her cut Monsanto's legs out from under them. Sorry for the bloody graphic here. Politics can be about needed change.

Lynn Rudmin Chong

Sanbornton

Last Updated on Tuesday, 15 July 2014 09:48

Hits: 186

 
The Laconia Daily Sun - All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy
Powered by BENN a division of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Login or Register

LOG IN