A+ A A-

Minimum wage votes split

CONCORD — When the New Hampshire House of Representatives last week voted by 173 to 118 to increase state minimum wage, the 18 members of the Belknap County Delegation split along strict party lines.

All 10 Republicans present — Reps. Richard Burchell of Gilmanton, Guy Comtois of Barnstead, Dennis Fields of Sanbornton, Don Flanders, Bob Luther and Frank Tilton of Laconia, Bob Greemore and Herb Vadney of Meredith, Stephen Holmes of Alton, and Michael Sylvia of Belmont — voted against the measure. Three Republicans — Jane Cormier of Alton, Charles Fink of Belmont and Colette Worsman of Meredith were absent and did not vote..

Four Democratic representatives — Lisa DiMartino of Gilford, Ruth Gulick of New Hampton, David Huot of Laconia and Ian Raymond of Sanbornton — voted in favor while the fifth, Beth Arsenault of Laconia, was absent and did not vote.

House Bill 1403 would increase the minimum hourly wage from $7.25 to $8.25 in 2015, to $9 in 2016 and annually thereafter by the percentage increase tied to the Consumer Price Index.

Last Updated on Friday, 14 March 2014 01:56

Hits: 146

Ferriere wins in Groton

GROTON — Robert Ferriere defeated Ronald Madan, 55-43, to win the Groton selectmen's race, the only contested position on Tuesday's town ballot.

Last Updated on Friday, 14 March 2014 01:56

Hits: 99

Write-in vote for Howard Cunningham strong enough for another term on I-L board

SANDWICH — Howard Cunningham appears headed for another term on the Inter-Lakes School Board after earning 106 write-in votes in balloting yesterday. He has represented the town on the board for many years but chose not to run for another term. However, no one else filed for the office and he indicated he would except a draft.

Cunningham also attracted 108 write-in votes in Meredith. Results from Center Harbor are not available as of this writing.

There were no contested races on the 2014 ballot.

All four proposed changes to the zoning ordinance received overwhelming majority support.

In the Executive Council special election, Democrat Mike Cryans carried the town over Republican Joe Kenney by a v ote of 202 to 173.


Last Updated on Friday, 14 March 2014 01:50

Hits: 137

Wakefield & Punturieri win in Moultonboro

MOULTONBOROUGH — Incumbent Russell Wakefield with 607 votes and newcomer Paul Punturieri, a member of the Planning Board, with 506 votes were elected to the Board of Selectmen.

Last Updated on Friday, 14 March 2014 01:48

Hits: 126

The Laconia Daily Sun - All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy
Powered by BENN a division of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Login or Register