A+ A A-

Belmont construction site targeted; police seek info

BELMONT — Police are investigating the theft of construction equipment from the Aho work site across from the Belknap Mall on Daniel Webster Highway.

Police said some about $4,000 in various construction tool were taken from a trailer on the site some time during the evening on July 19 into the morning hours of July 20.

Investigators are visiting area businesses with video surveillance systems and ask that if any one from the public has any information regarding the theft to call Officer Ryan Nolan at 267-8350.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 22 July 2015 01:19

Hits: 101

Police say alleged underage party host collected car keys from teen drivers as they arrived

GILFORD — A Police Department complaint filed against Dr. Brenda Stowe for allegedly facilitating an underage drinking party indicated she took the car keys away from all of the participants when they entered her home.

Stowe is charged with one count of knowingly facilitating an under age drinking party that was broken up by Gilford Police with some help from off-duty officers.

In part the recently filed complaint reads, "...Stowe did take key from the attendees during the gathering, labeled them with their names, and placed them in a bowl to prevent them from driving away from the party."

Police said 14 of the attendees were minors meaning they were between the ages of 17- and 21-years old and four of the attendees were juveniles meaning they were 17-years old or younger.

Police made arrangements for all of the youths to be released to an adult and Stowe was cited and released on personal recognizance bail.

Stowe is represented by Laconia attorney Matt Lahey and a trial date has been set for September 1 at 1 p.m. in the 4th Circuit Court, Laconia Division.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 22 July 2015 01:04

Hits: 265

Sanbornton begins process of finding a new town adminstrator at meeting tonight

SANBORNTON — Selectboard Chair Dave Nickerson said yesterday that the board will meet with a representative from Municipal Resources Inc. of Meredith at tonight's meeting to see if it can assist them with developing a job description for a new town administrator.

"I'm hoping they can (also) provide us with someone who can provide us assistance two days a week (until the job description can be approved by the board and someone can be hired), said Nickerson.

The move to redefine the job of the town administrator and hire someone from MRI temporarily comes after the board voted not to renew the contract of 7-year veteran Town Administrator Bob Veloski, whose official last day is July 31.

Nickerson said temporarily Assessing Assistant Rob Jutton and Board of Selectboard Secretary April Rollins are answering telephones and helping with the basic duties.

Nickerson said the board will review the job description with MRI as it exists today. "It may be fine or it may be tweaked some," he said.

He said the board may ask MRI to conduct the initial search process and present it with finalists.

"We want (a town administrator) as quickly as we can because of upcoming (FY 2017) budget preparations," Nickerson said.

He said that tonight's meeting will include a short discussion with MRI beginning at 4:30 p.m. about what the company can provide but because it is a regular meeting, town business must be addressed.

On July 29, the board will hold a work shop session dedicated only to discussing the open position and the recommendations from MRI. Nickerson said the workshop will be open to the public however the board will not be taking any public comment.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 22 July 2015 01:00

Hits: 145

Puppies left on veterinarian's doorstep

TILTON — Dr. Jennifer Taylor of the Lakeside Animal Hospital on Route 3 in Tilton is seeking information about the origins of three mixed breed puppies left on the doorstep of the veterinary clinic on Sunday, July 12.

The three puppies, estimated to be about a month old and weighing less than two pounds, were left in a crate on a very hot day when the veterinary hospital was closed. A neighbor heard the puppies and summoned the police, who transferred them to the care of Dr. Taylor.

All three puppies have been placed in foster homes. However, in order to ensure their health and well-being, Dr. Taylor is eager to determine their date of birth, the number of puppies in the litter, the identity and condition of their mother and any information about the breeds and lineage of their parents.

Anyone with information should call Dr. Taylor at 524-2553 or the Tilton Police Department at 286-4442.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 21 July 2015 12:59

Hits: 102

The Laconia Daily Sun - All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy
Powered by BENN a division of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette