D’Angelo’s alleged robber, accomplice indicted

LACONIA — A Belknap County grand jury has indicted a Plymouth man and a Laconia woman for their alleged respective roles on Dec. 13, 2014, in the unarmed robbery of D'Angelo's Restaurant on Union Avenue.

Brian Moore, 35, of Plymouth is facing one felony count of robbery for using physical force to overcome an employee who exited a rear door to take out the garbage. Police contend that he entered the store through that door and robbed it.

Moore is also charged with one felony count of witness tampering for trying to get his alleged female accomplice to lie about his whereabouts during the robbery.

Skyla Farquharson, 21, of Morrill Street in Laconia, an employee at the restaurant at the time of the robbery, is charged with one count of conspiracy to commit robbery for telling Moore how the operations of the store worked and one count of accomplice to robbery for allegedly telling Moore when the coworker was taking out the garbage.

The indictments against the pair were issued Thursday.

Police affidavits said the two had talked about how to rob the store in what Farquharson told them were initially just casual conversations that took a more serious turn just before Moore allegedly robbed it.

Affidavits said Moore allegedly parked across the street, donned a face mask to conceal his identity, and entered the store by grabbing the employee who was taking out the garbage and entering the store.

Moore fled, but police say he later returned to D'Angelo's to give Farquharson a ride home because she was working that evening. Police alleged she told Moore that the restaurant had been busy that day.

Moore has been in the Belknap County House of Corrections since his arrest by Laconia Police in January and is being held on $5,000 cash bail.

Farquharson is free on personal recognizance bail.

Gilford Police Dept. project $17,500 over budget

GILFORD — Selectmen learned yesterday that the company doing the excavation for the town's police station expansion have removed 220 yards of ledge and the cost of ledge removal has exceeded the budgeted amount by $17,500.

Town Administrator Scott Dunn said everyone involved knew there was ledge at the site of the planned expansion, however he said even keeping the excavation at a bare minimum led to the cost overrun.

"So where does (the money) come from," Dunn asked.

Selectman Gus Benevides said the budget was very tight to begin with but he wanted to know how the town could "ethically, legally, and morally" spend more than the budgeted amount.

Dunn said he didn't have an answer but offered some ideas such as taking the money from a different department or going back to the voters in 2016 to get additional money to cover the overrun.

He explained that in the time that elapsed since voters passed the $1.213-million warrant article until the time the contract was actually signed by the town and the contractor, the cost of raw materials including cement mix, steel and lumber has risen – effectively eliminating the 10-percent contingency built into to project.

Selectmen decided not to do anything, meaning the project should continue with the expectation that there will be savings from the rest of the construction.

Selectman Chan Eddy said he learned there have been some modifications to the original plan and they will now pin the building and allow a wall to be poured directly on to the ledge, instead of excavating the ledge to make space for a poured foundation.

Additionally, Dunn said he also learned that it will cost $14,520 to have a materials test. The contract has $3,500 built into it for that and Dunn described it as an insurance-type test.

He said the testing included a long list of material including soils, sieves, steel, concrete and asphalt and not just the test of the strength of the concrete.

When asked, Public Works Director Peter Nourse said he rarely saw contracts without materials testing.

Initially Selectmen Richard Grenier and Benevides were against paying for the materials test however Benevides said he would support the materials test and would not be voting with them if they chose to forgo it.

The selectmen told Dunn to approve the materials testing as requested.

Gilford man airlifted to hospital after falling 25-30 feet from porch

GILFORD – A 53-year-old man was airlifted to Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center yesterday evening after accidentally falling between 25 and 30 feet from a porch on the back of his house.

Fire Chief Stephen Carrier said the man suffered abdominal and chest injuries but was conscious and alert the entire time rescue teams worked with him.

He said the DHART helicopter was able to land at Alpine Ridge and the man was transferred from there.

Carrier said the man landed on a pile of debris and may have hit something on the way down. He described the home as a two- to three-story house that dropped off toward the back.

The man, who Carrier declined to identify, is expected to survive his fall.