A+ A A-

Speare medical office closed due to water damage

PLYMOUTH — Speare Memorial Hospital's medical office building, Speare Memorial at Boulder Point, is closed due to water damage from a frozen pipe that burst on Sunday. The pipe was a water feed for a rooftop unit that controls the building's humidification system.
According to Director of Facilities Dennis Patnaude, restoration services are onsite mitigating the extensive cosmetic water damage including carpeting, flooring and some furniture. While a damage estimate is unknown, Patnaude said there was no structural damage to the building.
Speare Memorial at Boulder Point is located on Boulder Point Drive, off Tenney Mountain Highway. The building is home to the hospital's affiliated practices including Plymouth Orthopedics & Sports Medicine Clinic, Speare Primary Care, White Mountain Eye Care & Optical, as well as Choice Physical Therapy and RehabFIT Medical Fitness. White Mountain Eye Care & Optical is expected to reopen as early as Friday, but the rest of the building will remain closed for clean-up and repair for up to three weeks.
Plymouth Orthopedics, Speare Primary Care and Choice Physical Therapy have relocated their practices to the hospital while Boulder Point remains closed. Patients with appointments should report to the following locations:
— Plymouth Orthopedics will see patients in the Oncology Clinic located on the first floor, just off the Main Entrance on Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays, and in Surgical Services on Wednesdays.
— Speare Primary Care patients are being seen in Plymouth OB/GYN, located in the hospital's northwest wing. Building access and parking are off Avery Street.
— Choice Physical Therapy will begin seeing patients at the hospital on Thursday, January 15. Patients should take the main elevators to the second floor. Patient check-in will be located off the elevators to the left.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 14 January 2015 11:22

Hits: 207

Fire above shop floor at New Hampshire Ball Bearing quickly put out

LACONIA — The New Hampshire Ball Bearing plant on Lexington Drive was evacuated around 10:30 p.m. on Monday when fire broke out in the duct work above a heat treating machine on the shop floor.

Deputy Fire Chief Kirk Beattie said that the fire appeared to have started from combustible material in the duct or from a malfunction of the machine and was quickly extinguished — with damage confined to adjacent electrical wiring and the duct work. There were no injuries and operations were only briefly interrupted.

Beattie said that firefighters were at the scene for about an hour-and-a-half.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 14 January 2015 02:04

Hits: 231

Brothers won't seek 4th term on Meredith Board of Selectmen

MEREDITH — Peter Brothers yesterday became the second member of the Board of Selectmen in as many days to announce that he would not seek re-election in March. On Monday, Carla Horne, who chairs the board, said she has decided to retire.

Brothers has served three terms on the Selectboard, which together with his tenure on the Planning Board and Capital Improvement Program (CIP) Committee represents nearly three decades of public service to the town.

"I thoroughly enjoyed my tenure," said Brothers, the longest serving member of the board. "We learned how to govern in good times and oh boy, did we learn how to govern in tough times."

Brothers expressed his gratitude to his colleagues on the board, the administrative team led by Town Manager Phil Warren, the full complement of town employees and the many volunteers serving on boards and commissions. "I've worked with a lot of great people," he said.


Last Updated on Wednesday, 14 January 2015 02:01

Hits: 128

Concord man charged with endangering his children & DWI after rollover wreck in Gilmanton

GILMANTON — Police have charged a Concord man with aggravated driving while intoxicated after he rolled over his truck on South Road Friday evening.

Michael Delloiacono, 40, of 35 Church Street allegedly fled from the scene, taking his two children — a 7-year-old and an 11-year-old — with him.

Police said he fled to his summer home not far from the crash site.

Delloiacono is also charged with two counts of endangering the welfare of a child and conduct after an accident for leaving the scene.

Firefighters evaluated the two children and determined they had not been injured.

Delloiacono was released on $1,500 personal recognizance bail but held overnight at the Belknap County House of Corrections because of his level of intoxication.

 Cutline: (Gilmanton Crash 0113) A GMC Sierra lies on its roof on South Road in Gilmanton after crashing last Friday night. The driver was charged with aggravated driving while intoxicated, two counts of endangering the welfare of a child and leaving the scene of an accident. (Gilmanton Police photo)

Cutline: (Delloiacono 0113) mug shot of Michael Delloiacono.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 14 January 2015 01:47

Hits: 352

The Laconia Daily Sun - All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy
Powered by BENN a division of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette