6 new members elected to LHS Athletic Hall of Fame; first additions since 1989

LACONIA — For the first time in 25 years, new members will be inducted this fall into the Laconia High School Athletic Hall of Fame. The Class of 2014 will consist of Mickey Donovan ('99) football/baseball, Jim Fitzgerald ('70-'01) football coach/athletic director, Nick Ford ('05) track/football, Chris Phelps ('87), basketball/football/track, Jim Swormstedt ('87) basketball/football, and Alan Wool ('68) winter track/baseball/football.

Formal induction will occur during homecoming weekend, on Saturday, Sept. 20. There will be a cocktail hour from 5 to 6 p.m. in the Meredith Village Savings Band Culinary Arts Dining Room of the Huot Technical Center and a ceremony will follow at 6 p.m. in the high school auditorium. Long-time voice of the Sachems David Rea will serve as Master of Ceremonies. The evening will conclude with dessert back in the dining room. Tickets for the event are priced at $15 and are available at the LHS Student Activity Office.

The last class inducted into the school's Hall of Fame was in 1989. Athletic Director Craig Kozens led a group that has spent two years doing research and re-defining a mission for the hall. "Through intensive study, we found that the Laconia Citizen's sports reporters were the trailblazers of the original hall," said Kozens. "Now the Laconia Coaches Council has embraced this task and it amassed a committee to bring the tradition back to the City of Laconia. It is with great pride that this committee will, once again, recognize outstanding contributions to the legacy of Laconia athletics."

Candidates for the Class of 2014 were nominated in the spring. (The criteria for selection may be found on the Laconia High School Athletic Department webpage.) The committee met several times and elected the six new inductees at the end of the July.

The Class of 2014 will be joining the Class of 1983, which includes Penny Pitou ('56), Kathy O'Neil ('77), Richard Tilton ('27), Bernie LaCroix ('49), Doug Housell ('51), Doug DeVarney'(61), Steve Stetson ('69), Mike Giguere ('69), Kent Yale ('72), and Chip Veazey ('72); the Class of 1984, which includes Jack Irwin ('50), Jeep Munzey ('49), and Guy Hamel ('68); the Class of 1985, which includes Beau Lessard ('49), Bidge Clement ('27), and Bobby Conway ('41); and the Class of 1989, which included John McGonigle ('59) and Phil Estes ('76).