Tilton was only local Republican to vote for 4¢ hike in N.H. gasoline tax

CONCORD — When the N.H. House of Representatives voted yesterday to raise the gas tax by four cents per gallon — the first increase in 23 years — Rep. Frank Tilton, alone among the 13 Republican members of the Belknap County, voted with the majority.

Senate Bill 367, sponsored by Senator Jim Rausch (R-Derry), chairman of the Senate Transportation Committee, carried the House 193 to 141, with members divided largely along party lines.

Four of the five Democrats — Reps. Lisa DiMartino of Gilford, Ruth Gulick of New Hampton, David Huot of Laconia and Ian Raymond of Sanbornton — voted for the tax hike. Rep. Beth Arsenault was absent and did not vote.

Save for Tilton, the other 11 Republicans — Reps. Richard Burchell of Gilmanton, Guy Comtois of Barnstead, Jane Cormier and Stephen Holmes of Alton, Dennis Fields of Sanbornton, Charles Fink and Michael Sylvia of Belmont, Don Flanders and Bob Luther of Laconia, and Herb Vadney and Colette Worsman of Meredith — voted against the increase. Rep. Bob Greemore of Meredith was absent and did not vote.