County Reps Reject Common Core

CONCORD — The Belknap County Delegation divided along party lines when the New Hampshire House of Representatives  rejected one bill to impede and another to thwart the introduction of the Common Core educational standards in the public schools.

House Bill 1239 would direct the State Board of Education to prepare a fiscal analysis of the program and hold five public hearings before implementing the Common Core standards, while House Bill 1508 would simply terminate the program altogether.

Last week, the House rejected HB-1239 by a vote of 182 to 124 and HB-1508 by a vote of 210 to 138. However, a majority of the county delegation backed both bills. The delegation split 11 to 6 in favor of HB-1239 and 12 to 5 in favor of HB-1503.

The five Democrats on the county delegation — Reps. Beth Arsenault and David Huot of Laconia, Lisa DiMartino of Gilford, Ruth Gulick of New Hampton and Ian Raymond of Sanbornton — voted against both bills and were joined on HB-1239 by Republican Dennis Fields. However, Fields joined the other Republican delegation members in voting for HB1508.

All the other Republicans voted for both bills — Reps. Richard Burchell of Gilmanton, Guy Comtois of Barnstead, Jane Cormier and Stephen Holmes of Alton, Charles Fink and Michael Sylvia of Belmont, Bob Greemore, Herb Vadney and Colette Worsman of Meredith, and Bob Luther and Frank Tilton of Laconia. Republican Don Flanders of Laconia was absent and did not vote.