Most county reps support repeal of death penalty

CONCORD — The bill to repeal the death penalty, which carried the New Hampshire House of Representatives by a vote of 225 to 104 yesterday, drew bipartisan support from the 18 members of the Belknap County Delegation.

Only three members of the delegation, all Republicans, opposed repeal — Reps. Richard Burchell of Gilmanton, Bob Greemore of Meredith and Stephen Holmes of Alton.

Another eight Republicans — Reps. Guy Comtois of Barnstead, Dennis Fields of Sanbornton, Charles Fink and Michael Sylvia of Belmont, Don Flanders, Bob Luther and Frank Tilton of Laconia and Herb Vadney of Meredith — joined with the four Democrats — Lisa DiMartino of Gilford, Ruth Gulick of New Hampton, David Huot of Laconia and Ian Raymond of Sanbornton — in support of repeal.

Republicans Jane Cormier of Alton and Colette Worsman and Democrat Beth Arsenault of Laconia were absent and did not vote.