7 picked to serve on new Gilford police chief search committee

GILFORD — Twenty-five residents are willing to serve on the citizen-based police chief search committee and selectmen chose seven of them at their meeting Wednesday night.

The seven are Paul Ardissoni, Thomas Drouin, Stephen Hodges, Kimberly Lacasse, Kathleen Mirriam, Robert Pelland, and Larry Routhier.

According to Selectboard Chair Kevin Hayes, the committee is tasked with narrowing the pool of applicants down to a minimum of three and a maximum of five.

He said he expects the Board of Selectmen to have one brief public meeting with the new committee sometime after the first of the year to give them a time line for choosing the top candidates. After that, he said the committee's work, being personnel related, will be in non-public sessions and without the influence of the board.

Hayes said selectmen tried to make the committee are diverse as possible, choosing some people with legal or law enforcement experience and some without it. He also said selectmen balanced the committee by age and gender to reflect an accurate representation of Gilford's populace.

Hayes said the application filing date closes on December 31 and so far he thinks there are about 20 applicants. "From what I understand, applicants are coming from all over the country," he said.

The town is seeking a new police chief after the reasonably sudden resignation of former Police Chief Kevin Keenan that followed a period of administrative leave.

The other people who asked to serve on the committee were John Adamo, Bill Akerley, Mark Barton, Greg Bavis, Jeff Bonan, Dee Chitty, Mark Corry, Russ Dumais, Chan Eddy, Richard Grenier, Stephen Hankard, George Hurt, Kevin Leandro, William Morley, James Mull, Skip Murphy, David Osman, and Timothy Sullivan.