Franklin Savings Bank Fund honors 9 organizations

TILTON — The Franklin Savings Bank Fund for Community Advancement honored nine local organizations who are working to make a difference in their communities at an awards gathering held at the Greenside Restaurant at Lochmere Country Club Tuesday evening.
Jeff Savage, bank president and CEO said that Fund for Community Advancement was formed with a one million dollar investment in 1997 to provide support for substantial projects by non-profit groups that significantly enhance the lives of people in the communities that make up the primary market area of the bank.
He said that fund has been established as a fund within the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation and that the Fund Committee is comprised of members of both the bank's trustees and management. Savage said the fund has distributed 146 grants totaling $753,000 in 32 different rounds of grants and distributed over $34,000 in its most recent round.
Savage thanked Rob Steady, bank treasurer, for serving as chairman of the fund since its inception and introduced Mary ''Meg'' Miller, new fund chairman, who said that the grant process is streamlined to meet the needs of groups seeking assistance and doesn't require that they hire a grant writer.
Ron Magoon, executive vice president and chief operating officer, said that the fund has contributed to the quality of life on central New Hampshire, helping make it a great place to live and to work.
He announced the award recipients who included:
American Red Cross of New Hampshire, represented by Alice Walton, development coordinator.
Central N.H. Special Operations Unit, represented by John Duval, Concord Police Chief.
The Circle Program, Kathy Kearns, executive director.
Gordon-Nash Library, Cathy Vincvic, library director.
N.H. Food Bank of N.H. Catholic Charities, Melanie Gosselin, executive director of the Food Bank.
N.H. Special Olympics, Mary Conroy, president and CEO.
Town of Tilton Senior Center, Selectman Pat Consentino, co-founder.

Veterans Memorial Recreation Area, Michael 'Mike' Mullavey.
Youth Assistance Program, Dawn Shimberg, director.


CAPTION: cut slugged FSB

Jeff Savage, president and CEO of Franklin Savings Bank, watches as Ron Magoon, executive vice president and chief operating officer, displays art work presented to the bank by the Circle Program, one of the non-profit organizations awarded a grant by the bank's Fund for Community Advancement. Presenting the art work were Paula Ferenac and Kathy Kearns of the Circle Program. (Roger Amsden/for The Laconia Daily Sun)