Chamber of Commerce announces Community Hero award nominees

LACONIA — The Lakes Region Chamber of Commerce unveiled its list of nominees for the 2013 Lakes Region Community Hero awards at a press conference held Friday morning.
The four awards include: the Irwin Award, the Hurst Award, the J. Bart Conners Award and the Young Professionals Award.
The awards will be presented on May 2 at the new lakefront pavilion at the Margate.
Chamber Executive Director Karmen Gifford said that this marks the second year of a new format in which award nominees have been announced prior to the event, which is supported by presenting sponsor Citizens Bank.
Nominees are:
The James R. Irwin Award for Community Service
— The Beetle Family, Alan and Jennifer and Jeff and Wendy Beetle of Patrick's Pub & Eatery, who have been fundraisers for the WLNH Children's Auction with Pub Mania raising $160,000 last year, as well as for the WOW Trail and a variety of non-profit organizations in the Lakes Region.
— Bob Bolduc, the long-time owner of Piche's Ski & Sports, who developed Bolduc Park as a non-profit par 3 golf course in the summer and outdoor recreation area in the winter.
— Rob Stewart, owner of All Brite Cleaning & Restoration. He donates both monetarily and of his time raising money for the Red Dress Gala, WLNH Children's Auction, American Red Cross, First United Methodist Church, Hands Across the Table and the Salvation Army Food Pantry.
— Steve Wainwright, owner of Wainwright Insurance Services for many years and is now affiliated with Cross Insurance. He is involved in numerous business dealings and most recently a partner with The Golf Club at Patrick's Place.
Hurst Award Nominees:
— Skip Dubois , a long-time softball coach in the Franklin School District, a former Franklin Citizen of the Year and New Hampshire Coach of the Year.
— Lynne and Bill Burns, who have been recognized for their work at Trestle View Park, the gateway to the community of Franklin. They have also been involved in scouting, Franklin Junior Women's Club, Franklin Outing Club and the Franklin Opera House.
— Melissa Rizzo, health educator at Franklin Regional Hospital, who has been involved with helping to rebuild the local parks, her commitment to the drug task force and many other health related projects.
— Ken Merrifield, three-term Franklin Mayor and an outspoken booster of the city who supports local civic organizations, youth programs and economic development efforts in the city.
J Bart Conners Award:
— Darcy Peary, volunteer coordinator at LRGHealthcare, a committed volunteer who serves as Vice Chair of the Lakes Region Chamber of Commerce's Ambassador Committee and is an active WOW Trail supporter.
— Sue Bullerwell, co-owner of All My Life Jewelers, a family owned Laconia Main Street business, who has worked on many community projects through the Laconia Main Street Program, the Belknap Independent Business Alliance and the Chamber.
— Travis Cole of RE/MAX Bayside Realtors, president of the Lakes Region Rotary Club and 2nd vice chair of the Lakes Region Chamber of Commerce as well as a youth coach in Gilford.
— Bill Quigley, Gunstock Mountain Resort marketing director, who is currently on the Chamber board of directors, has led the Membership Committee, attends almost all business after hours event demonstrating how effective the networking is.
Young Professionals Award
— Laura Brusseau, a teacher at Inter-Lakes High School, founder and president of Faith, Hope & Love Foundation and board member of Lakes Region Habitat for Humanity.
— Ryan Barton, a successful entrepreneur with a growing business, Mainstay Technologies, which provides IT services to many New Hampshire municipalities and organizations and is active with several community organizations.
— Beth San Soucie, general manager of Big Cat Coffees. She serves on the board for the Chamber of Commerce. She is involved in the launch of a new civic organization called Fusion as well as volunteering for other civic organizations.
— Eric Proulx, general manager of the Tanger Outlet Center in Tilton. He was recognized as the NH Union Leader's Forty Union 40 in 2013, serves on many boards past and present including the Granite State Ambassadors and the LR Chamber of Commerce.