A+ A A-

Music minister, band to give local performance (125)


MOULTONBOROUGH -- Music minister Tom Ewing and the Shepherds View Band will give a program on Sunday, July 19, at 1 p.m. at the Moultonborough Lions Club on Old Rout 109.

The program is being sponsored by the Moultonborough United Methodist Church, in partnership with the New Hampshire Christian Musicians Network.

As a worship leader, Ewing has leadership style that appeals to those from a variety of church backgrounds. He has recorded several worship albums and has written worship songs that are used in many parts of the world.

Complimenting Ewing is the Shepherds View Band, through their vehicle of 1970s-style classic rock and modern worship music.

The public is invited to this free worship performance. The first 100 people who show up will get a free hot dog.


Last Updated on Tuesday, 07 July 2015 07:58

Hits: 123

Laconia Parks & Recreation hosting Explore A Truck Day on Saturday

LACONIA — On Saturday, July 11, Laconia Parks & Recreation and Public Works Departments will be co-hosting the annual Explore a Truck Day, where kids of all ages and parents can come and explore all different types of vehicles.

There will be vehicles such as an excavator, pay loader, bulldozer, dump truck, snow plows, fire trucks, police cars, tow trucks and a tree company, plus many more. This is a free program and will go on from 10 a.m. – 12 p.m. at the Laconia Public Works garage on Bisson Ave. There will also be some food available.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 07 July 2015 07:55

Hits: 103

Former Plymouth State University President Donald Wharton receives the Hyde Award

PLYMOUTH — Former Plymouth State University President Donald P. Wharton has been honored with the Harold E. Hyde Award for Distinguished Educational Leadership. Wharton was the 13th president of Plymouth State, serving from 1993 to 2006. During his tenure he successfully advocated to change the name of the institution from Plymouth State College to Plymouth State University, reflecting the expanded range and depth of its educational opportunities. His successor, Sara Jayne Steen, said Wharton's legacy is one of leadership and accomplishment.

"Don Wharton saw that the campus could be enhanced, both programmatically and physically," Steen said, "and he created a team to help him do that. He succeeded in making the campus a university in fact as well as in name. I am proud to have been his successor and to acknowledge his role in making Plymouth State University the campus I love."

Under Wharton's leadership, the campus saw major facilities changes, including the completion of the Boyd Science Center, the Hartman Union Building, and Lamson Library and the renovation of the Draper & Maynard building. Additional improvements included a co-generation plant for electricity and heat for the campus and the conversion of town streets to campus walkways for a greener and more beautiful residential atmosphere.

Additionally, Wharton formed the President's Council to enhance Plymouth State's fundraising capacity. He also added new undergraduate programs in communications and criminal justice and adopted a new general education system, as well as increasing graduate enrollment with five new master's programs.

Harold E. Hyde, for whom the award is named,was the 10th president of Plymouth State, serving from 1951-1977. Under his leadership, Plymouth Teachers College became Plymouth State College in 1963. He led the institution through three decades of significant physical and programmatic growth, becoming known as a dean of college presidents. In the tradition of his service, the Harold E. Hyde Award honors an individual for distinguished educational leadership.

Previous Harold E. Hyde Award recipients include Dennise Maslakowski, former PSU associate vice president for the College of Graduate Studies; Virginia Barry, former PSU provost and current New Hampshire Commissioner of Education; Stanley J. Yarosewick, former president of Keene State College, and Hannah McCarthy, former president of Daniel Webster College.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 07 July 2015 07:50

Hits: 95

MVSB grant funds photo exhibit at Wright Museum

WOLFEBORO  — The Wright Museum of World War II was one of twenty-one local non-profit organizations to receive a grant from the Meredith Village Savings Bank Fund at the New Hampshire Charitable Foundation this year. The $1,750 grant, along with support from other local businesses, will be used to bring Memories of World War II: Photographs from the Associated Press Archives to the museum. This traveling exhibit contains 120 black and white photographs taken during the war by some of the most talented photographers of the era. The Wright Museum is the only 2015 New England venue for the exhibit and will be the home for the display between July 7 and September 12.

"This year marks the 70th anniversary of the end World War II," said Dr. Michael Culver, Executive Director for Wright Museum, "and we are very proud to have the community's support as we pay tribute to this historic milestone by displaying some of the period's most iconic images."

Among the photographs in the exhibit are: the German Army marching into Paris under the Champs-Elysees; Londoners in the underground train stations; Hitler at Berchesgaden; the bombing of Pearl Harbor; FDR, Churchill and Stalin at their Tehran conference; the D-Day invasion; Jack Benny, Bob Hope and Martha Raye entertaining American troops; the raising of the flag at Iwo Jima; MacArthur's return to the Philippines; the liberation of German concentration camps; the surrender of the Japanese on the USS Missouri; the sailor kissing a nurse in Times Square; and many more.

The Wright Museum is a non-profit organization dedicated to broadening the public understanding and appreciation of the exceptional contributions made by World War II-era Americans. The Museum is located at 77 Center St, Wolfeboro. The Museum is open daily Monday – Saturday, 10 am-4 pm, and Sunday, Noon -4:00 pm. More information about the Wright Museum can be found at wrightmuseum.org; or by calling 603-569-1212.

MVSB established the Meredith Village Savings Bank Fund in 1997 under the leadership of John Starrett who was then president and CEO of the Bank. Since then, 269 grants totaling $1,071,067 have been awarded to a wide range of environmental, social, educational, and historic projects throughout the Greater Lakes Region and Plymouth areas.

Last Updated on Tuesday, 07 July 2015 07:47

Hits: 94

The Laconia Daily Sun - All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy
Powered by BENN a division of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette