A+ A A-

Belknap Mill to host bridal show

LACONIA  — Fall is upon us and with it come two new and inspiring bridal events; one at the historic Belknap Mill in Laconia and another at the beautiful White Mountain Hotel in North Conway.

Presented by Lakes Region Bride magazine and bridal events, the shows will offer a variety of wedding planning ideas and vendors for brides-to-be in the wedding-planning process.
The Belknap Mill Fall Bridal Show will be held on Sunday, October 26 from noon to 3 pm. The show will feature food, food and more food, as well as delicious wedding cake samples, ice cream favors, flowers, photography, spa information and more.
"The Belknap Mill is a historic icon of the Lakes Region," says Lakes Region Bride editor Kathi Hopper. "The Mill is the site of many weddings and a gorgeous place for an event or party. The building has old brick walls, wood floors and many rustic touches, yet it offers modern amenities such as air conditioning and plenty of parking. It is the perfect, easy-to-reach location for our fall bridal show."
Guests can view beautiful table designs from Judy Abbott at Abbott Rental; the latest gowns from A Day to Remember Bridal Boutique; taste wedding cake samples and catered foods in the Wedding Foodie aisle; discuss wedding flowers, photography and more with vendors; get a free updo to try out a wedding day hair style from Galleria Salon and Day Spa; and even sample some ice cream from Ben and Jerry's of Meredith.
"The grand prize is a romantic overnight stay at the beautiful Nonantum Resort in Kennebunkport, Maine with breakfast included. One lucky bride-to-be will be chosen at the show for the romantic get away." says Hopper.
For a delightful afternoon of food and wedding planning ideas, mark your calendar now for the upcoming Brides & Brunch bridal show at the White Mountain Hotel in North Conway, on Sunday, November 2. Start the day with a scrumptious brunch in the Ledges Dining Room (additional and separate charge from the show), then take in the latest bridal fashions from Inspiration's Bridal, get a free makeup/hair consult with the stylists from Debony Salon of Jackson, check out florals from Ruthie's Flower Shop, Ks Bouquets, sample wedding cake from Ooo La La Creative Cakes, tour the resort, chat with photographers, get linen and table design colors and ideas from Abbott Rental and much more.
(For information on participating as a vendor in the bridal shows or to pre register to attend, visit www.lakesregionbride.com or call 603-293-2327.)

Last Updated on Monday, 20 October 2014 09:34

Hits: 101

Paddling on Winnipesaukee talk at Taylor Community

LACONIA — Join Ron Guilmette, author and photographer, as he relates his adventures and experiences paddling to all of the islands of Lake Winnipesaukee, Wednesday, Oct. 29 at 6:30 p.m. in Taylor Community's Woodside Building, 435 Union Ave.
Guilmette and co-author Jay Leccese recently released a coffee table book titled "The Islands of Winnipesaukee," which documents the authors' kayaking adventures to all of the lakes islands with more than 275 full-color photos. It also contains many interesting anecdotes and fun facts about the lake and its islands.
The event is free and open to the public, but reservations are required to ensure seating. Call 524-5600, Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 4 p.m.
Guilmette was born and raised in Lawrence, MA. He started renting kayaks for 25 cents an hour on the Shawsheen River in Andover when he was 10 years old. He's done extensive ocean kayaking with his good friend, Red McDonald to the Isle of Shoals, off the coast of New Hampshire and in Bar Harbor, ME with a guide. He also kayaked through the 10,000 islands in Everglades National Park, FL. He continues to ocean kayak with his children off of Salisbury Beach, MA, where he's lived for the past 42 years.

Last Updated on Friday, 17 October 2014 10:24

Hits: 139

MetroCast Foundation Golf Tournament Raises over $30K in support of local community organizations

BELMONT — The annual MetroCast Foundation Golf Tournament held at Lochmere Country Club on September 15 raised more than $30,000 in support of youth-serving organizations in the region. With a score of 62, Roger Page, Christine Jesseman, Bryan Stewart, and Ryan McKenna took this year's top prize.
The annual event, now in its 16th year, began as an effort to honor the memory of Robbie Mills, a 14 year-old Laconia boy who was killed in 1997 for his trail bike by two older teens (Mills' mother is a MetroCast employee). The MetroCast event was launched a year later to support the Robbie Mills Memorial Fund, which remains a primary beneficiary of the tournament.
As the tournament subsequently grew in popularity, the number of organizations supported by the fundraiser also expanded to include the Boys & Girls Club of the Lakes Region, Greater Lakes Advocacy Center (Belknap-Merrimack Community Action Program), Spaulding Youth Center Foundation, WLNH Children's Auction, and more.
In response to the growing need, Jim Bruder, Chairman and CEO of Harron Communications, MetroCast's parent company, founded the MetroCast Foundation in 2007 to facilitate donations for the tournament from video programmers and vendor partners. In addition to 2014's key sponsors Momentum and IDT, more than 40 corporate organizations contributed to this year's event.
"We are grateful for our sponsors and contributors, as well as all those who came out on a beautiful day for golf, food and fun," said MetroCast Regional Manager, Moira Campbell. "This valued support enabled MetroCast to continue to honor the memory of the beloved Robbie Mills and to serve worthy organizations that better our young people and the great community we call home."

Last Updated on Friday, 17 October 2014 10:02

Hits: 213

two-part guided hike of Mount Major offered by Lakes Region Conservation Trust

ALTON — A two-part guided hike on Mount Major will be conducted on Saturday, Oct. 25. This outing is being organized by the Lakes Region Conservation Trust in partnership with the Society for the Protection of New Hampshire Forests, and the Belknap Range Conservation Coalition.

In the first segment of the hike, starting at 9 a.m., participants will explore lesser known cultural history features, glacial boulders, and rock shelters located off-trail along the lower slopes of the mountain. A more strenuous option will follow, at about 11 a.m., with a naturalist-guided hike to the summit. Hikers will be able to enjoy the magnificent views, to identify local landmarks, and to learn about forest ecology and recent land conservation success in the Belknap Range, returning at approximately 3 p.m.

The Conservation Trust and the Forest Society, along with the Belknap Range Coalition and its members, including the towns of Alton and Gilford, have worked together to conserve four key parcels of land in the Belknap Range totaling 950 acres and encompassing parts of key hiking trails, including the most popular trails to the summit of Mount Major. More than 1,800 individual donors, foundations, and other grant-making organizations, and the towns of Gilford and Alton, provided support for the project, and the $1.8 million campaign goal was reached in late August.

Participants will need to arrive by 8:45 am to have time to check in and prepare for the hike. The number of participants in this excursion will be limited, and preregistration is required. Those who preregister will be sent additional detailed information.

To preregister, please contact the Lakes Region Conservation Trust at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or 603-253-3301. LRCT guided excursions are free to all.


Last Updated on Friday, 17 October 2014 09:56

Hits: 106

The Laconia Daily Sun - All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy
Powered by BENN a division of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette