Lakes Region Churches second annual easterfest saturday in belmont (157)

BELMONT — In a collaborative effort among Lakes Region Churches (LRC), Belmont Baptist Church, Lochmere Baptist Church, Grace Capital Church, Laconia Campus, and Hope Community Chapel of Franklin will help celebrate the fun and meaning of Easter by hosting the second annual EasterFest. Beginning at 11 am at the Belmont High School April 4th, the event will run until 2 pm.

The EasterFest will provide area children and their families a free day of fun and excitement. The plan is to hold the largest Easter Egg hunt in the state, with over 15,000 eggs available to find. There will also be a bouncy house and climbing wall for the children to enjoy free of charge. Door prizes will also be awarded

Along with our Easter Eggs free hot dogs, and drinks will be provided to everyone in attendance. It is estimated  that 250 children and their families will be in attendance.

Many local business have come together in support of the event.


Belmont High PTO to host Mom Prom

BELMONT -- The Belmont High School PTO is organizing its second Mom Prom which will be held Saturday, April 18, from 7 to 10 p.m. at the school gymnasium.

Organizers report that last year's first Mom Prom was so popular they are working to make sure that this year's event is bigger and better.

The evening will feature refreshments, bright decorations, and upbeat music for an inexpensive night of dancing and socializing all for just $20 per ticket purchased in advance or $25 at the door.

Prom goers can choose to dress up or wear something casual.

Proceeds from our event will assist us in offering programs and funding initiatives for BHS faculty, students, parents and the general public.

Included in the ticket price is the opportunity to sample treats on the dessert table. There will also be a Candy Bar, along with a selection of non-alcoholic beverages. Door prizes will be awarded.

Tickets for $20 are available in advance via our email address at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or by calling Gretta Olson-Wilder at 524-2782.

Owl Brook Teacher Workshop held on May 9

HOLDERNESS — The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service will be holding a four-hour workshop for educators and care providers of young children at the Owl Brook Hunter Education Center in Holderness on May 9. The workshop is titled Growing Up WILD, sponsored by the N.H. Fish and Game, and Project Learning Tree's Environmental Experiences for Early Childhood.

The supplementary education program for young learners is designed to connect children ages three to seven with nature and the outdoors. The program supports educators and care providers by engaging young children in activities that encourage exploration of the natural world. Written by educators and wildlife professionals, and reviewed by experts in early childhood education, the activity guides provide an early foundation for developing active, healthy children who enjoy nature and are prepared to enter school with necessary learning skills.

To register or to learn more about this and other upcoming workshops, visit the N.H. Project Learning Tree's website at or contact Mary Goodyear at N.H. Fish and Game at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or 271-6649.

MVSB supports kidworks comedy night

MEREDITH — Meredith Village Savings Bank is proud to support Kidworks Learning Center by sponsoring the 5th annual Kidworks Comedy Night which will take place tonight at Church Landing in Meredith.

"We're very grateful for MVSB's continued support of our comedy night fundraiser event," said Jennifer Weeks, Executive Director of Kidworks Learning Center. "The support we receive from local community-oriented businesses like the Bank enables us to provide high-quality care and education for local children at an affordable cost to working families."

The fundraiser starts with a reception and cash bar at 7 p.m. followed by a comedy show featuring nationally celebrated talent, Juston McKinney, beginning at 8 p.m.

Tickets to the show are $25 per person and include a coupon to buy one entree and get the second entree half price (valid for use on 4/3/15 only) for one of several Meredith eateries: the Lakehouse, Camp, Lago or Giuseppe's. Tickets can be purchased in advance at Kidworks (Monday through Friday) or at the Meredith Mobil Station, across from Town Docks, in Meredith.

Comedian Juston McKinney began his career in New York City where he worked his way into the weekend line-up at several comedy clubs. Juston has appeared on a number of Comedy Central specials, including his own half hour and full hour feature. He has appeared on The Tonight Show with Jay Leno, Conan O'Brien, and was chosen to be a part of Comedy Central's Blue Collar Comedy Next Generation Tour with Bill Engval, airing on TBS.

The mission of the Kidworks Learning Center is to provide high-quality early childhood education and childcare programs at an affordable cost to families. The center provides a warm, safe and nurturing environment with developmentally appropriate materials to foster individualized learning. Program goals and curriculum have been developed to promote the emotional, social, cognitive and physical development of each child. Through daily activities children are provided with a variety of opportunities to explore and develop to their maximum potential.

Meredith Village Savings Bank, founded in 1869, is an independent mutual savings bank with 11 offices serving individuals, families, businesses and municipalities in the Lakes Region and the Plymouth area.