A+ A A-

Faith Alive Christian Fellowship begins series of healing & miracle services

LACONIA — Faith Alive Christian Fellowship will be holding the first of monthly Healing and Miracle services on Saturday, April 25 at 6 p.m. A free dinner will be served at 5 p.m. Everyone is invited to attend.

These services will be held at Faith Alive Christian Fellowship, 72 Primrose Drive South, Laconia, across from Aavid Technologies. Faith Alive is a non-denominational church. For more information log onto www.faithalivenh.org or call 603-273-4147

Last Updated on Friday, 24 April 2015 07:59

Hits: 83

Teen Reiki class at Grace Wellness Center

MEREDITH — Kimberly Hancock will be teaching a Teen Reiki Class (ages 13 – 18), Tuesday, April 28 from 10 am – 4 pm at Grace Wellness Center in Meredith. Cost is $75.
Reiki is a Japanese technique for stress reduction and relaxation that also promotes healing. The class will cover physical healing, self-healing, healing family, friends, pets etc.
She will also be offering Reiki I, Saturday, May 2,  9 am – 4 pm and Reiki II, Saturday, May 9, 9am – 4 pm. Reiki I Energy exchange is $125 and Reiki II Energy exchange is $150. Cost for both I & II Energy exchange is $250.

For more information and to reserve space by email or phone Kimberly at 603-630-3287, or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Hancock is a Psychic Medium, a Certified Usui Reiki Master Teacher, Zero Point Shamballa Master, Integrative Energy Therapy Practitioner Level II. She is a recipient of the Munay-Ki Rites and has attended classes in Mediumship, Shamanic Reiki, and Crystal Healing. She also attended a day workshop with the Twin Shamans of Peru.

Last Updated on Friday, 24 April 2015 07:51

Hits: 86

PSU Dean of Students recognized for advocacy against domestic and sexual assault

PLYMOUTH — Plymouth State University Dean of Students, Jeff Furlone, has been recognized by two agencies for developing and implementing initiatives with a local crisis services agency, Voices Against Violence (Voices).

As a PSU representative, Furlone has collaborated with Voices in creating a formal Memorandum of Understanding to more clearly define the relationship between the two entities, the first agreement of its kind between a New Hampshire college or university and a crisis center.

In February, Voices presented Furlone its Beverly Seavey Award, which is given each year to an outstanding community member who has "gone above and beyond" to help end domestic violence. Meg Kennedy Dugan, executive director of Voices says, "Jeff has walked more students in crisis over to our offices than any other person. He is one of the most caring and compassionate people I have had the pleasure of knowing."

Furlone says, "PSU has been referring people to Voices for years, but this agreement defines our share of the work—our responsibilities, and the services for which PSU pays. The experience students have had with Voices has been positive at the worst times of their lives—they feel supported and respected by Voices staff."

Furlone's team, which includes Kara Lewis Barker, program support assistant, and Janette Wiggett, assistant dean of students, holds regular seminars and encourages student volunteerism with Voices, as they continually update policies and procedures on the issue at the university level. Furlone and Wiggett initiated training by Voices staff for University residence directors to provide them and their students with appropriate information and services, and have developed workshops and best practices for other agencies and universities on topics related to sexual and domestic violence. Through his vision, Furlone has incorporated Voices as a resource throughout PSU's website and on campus.

"Furlone and his team are working to change the culture on campuses around the issue of sexual abuse," says Maureen McDonald, executive director of the coalition. "This has resulted in a dramatic change in the collaboration between PSU and Voices Against Violence, a coalition member." McDonald says, "He [Furlone] is a dynamic and knowledgeable speaker on the issues of campus sexual assault and has worked collaboratively with other stakeholders to expand PSU's sexual assault prevention work and efforts to support victims."

Furlone is active in the Campus Consortium, a project connected to the New Hampshire Attorney General's office that creates a forum where New Hampshire's post-secondary institutions can develop and implement strategies to end violence against women on campuses. Additionally, he is a member of the multidisciplinary Plymouth Area Sexual Assault Resource Team, and recently received the Victim's Rights Day Award from the New Hampshire Coalition Against Domestic and Sexual Violence.

Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs Frank Cocchiarella says, "Jeff has an incredible knack for balancing professionalism with compassion. As dean of students, he is committed to being fair and supportive of all students, but he always goes the extra mile when it comes to their safety."

Last Updated on Friday, 24 April 2015 07:47

Hits: 139

LRCS Honors Employees for their dedication to the organization

LACONIA — Lakes Region Community Services executive director Christine Santaniello and board president R. Stuart Wallace presented certificates of appreciation to long-term employees and Shared Family Living providers at the LRCS Annual Celebration held on April 9 in Laconia.

"As our agency has grown and changed over the years, employees continue to be with us to support our mission and the individuals and families we serve. We are very proud to have such dedicated employees and to honor their service at our organization's 40th Milestone Celebration," stated Christine Santaniello, Executive Director.

Twenty-three employees were honored this year for reaching the longevity milestones of 10, 15, 20, and 25 years of service to the organization. LRCS Longevity Awardees for 2015 include: 25 Years; Steve Barton, Nancy Brown, Lyn Carlson, and Laurie Vachon. 20 year recipients include; Diane Bedford, Judy Maguire, Melanie Mardin, Wendy Robb, Mary St. Jacques, and Judee Teichert. 15 year recipients include; Ellen Noyes, and Penny Rumley. 10 year recipients; Cathy Dupuis, Loretta Gilpatric, Joanne Hammel, Donald Harris, Nancy Kirk, Suzanne McCormack, Joyce Moore, Joan Poitras, Charles Slaughter, Wendy Shaw, and Susan Smith.

Last Updated on Thursday, 23 April 2015 07:37

Hits: 102

The Laconia Daily Sun - All Rights Reserved
Privacy Policy
Powered by BENN a division of the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette