Michael Seymour Wins Norm Marsh Leadership Award

LACONIA — The Belknap Economic Development Council is proud to announce, at its Annual Meeting held March 20 at the Lakes Region Community College, the Norman Marsh Leadership Award was presented to Michael Seymour.

The Norman Marsh Leadership award honors the memory of a local businessman who served two decades as a Belknap County Commissioner and four terms as a State Representative; and, whose leadership facilitated the creation and funding of the Belknap Economic Development Council. The Council presents this award annually to an individual who demonstrates outstanding leadership on economic development issues in our region.

Board of Directors Member Jeffrey Savage, of Franklin Savings Bank, cited Michael's passionate leadership and boundless energy to the Lakes Region; his exceptional dedication to the City of Laconia as its Mayor; and, his energetic involvement in community endeavors such as the LNH Children's Auction, as only the tip of the iceberg in qualifying Michael for this prestigious award. Savage closed by pointing out this year's Norman Marsh Leadership award recipient is simply knowledgeable about many things and, in turn, we all benefit from what Seymour brings to our community.

Belknap EDC is a non-profit regional development corporation. Belknap EDC provides technical assistance and alternative financing to local businesses and works to address the region's long-term economic development challenges by attracting young talent, supporting creative entrepreneurs, and enhancing workforce development programs in the region. Visit www.BelknapEDC.org for more information.

Pictured from left to right: Sean Sullivan, outgoing BEDC chairman; Michael Seymour, Norn Marsh award recipient; Henry Lipman, incoming BEDC chairman and Justin Slattery, BEDC executive director. (Courtesy photo)