PSU employee recognition ceremony

PLYMOUTH — Plymouth State University President Sara Jayne Steen recognized more than 90 University employees and retirees in a ceremony on November 13. Dozens of co-workers, friends, and family members attended the annual event. Steen thanked employees for their dedication and provided each of them with a gift for service to the University; the President's Office also made a donation to the student support foundation in lieu of a rose for each landmark year recipient.

"Today we're gathered to honor our own; Recognition Day is one of the traditions that makes Plymouth State University special," Steen said. "We're here on the same mission, to ensure our students are going to make the world a better place for the next generation. Today is a day we say thank you to our faculty and staff, to express our gratitude to the people who have created the environment that gives our students the chance to succeed and excel."

Retirees Charles Brown, Jerrold Griffin, James Koermer, David McBride, Annette Mitchell, Nancy Pettengill and Bonnie Breen-Wagner were recognized for their dedication to Plymouth State. President Steen noted the seven retirees cumulatively have worked at the institution for more than 200 years. "Each retiree has made his or her mark on the institution, as well as on their field and we're grateful for everyone's achievement."

Larry Spencer, professor emeritus in Biology, who has taught regularly since leaving his full-time position, was recognized as the longest serving employee, celebrating his 45th year of employment at the institution.

The 30 year recipients include- Trent Boggess, College of Business Administration; Michelle Fistek, Social Science; Marcia Huckins, Center for Young Children and Families; Soo Jang, College of Business Administration; and Roger Kleinpeter, Computer Science and Technology.

The 35 year recognition goes out to- Christopher Buckley, English; Robert Egbert, Social Science; Mark Gilman, Sodexo; David Leuser, College of Business Administration; and Gary McCool, Library and Academic Support Services.

40 year recipient recognition- Betsy Cheney, Public Relations and Carleen Graff, Music, Theatre, and Dance. The 45-year recognition was presented to Larry Spencer, Biological Sciences.

For more information about this release, contact Bruce Lyndes, PSU News Services Mgr., (603) 535-2775 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..