Janet Robertson Named Horizon Award Winner

HOLDERNESS — Squam Lakes Natural Science Center held its annual meeting on Saturday, August 10.

Retiring trustees Alan English of Holderness and Tashia Morgridge of Holderness were honored for their dedicated service. Re-elected to the Board of Trustees including Nancy Beck of Holderness, Lawrence Beeson of Holderness, Margaret Conver of Flourtown, PA, Andy Eaton of Ashland, John Fernandes of Ashland, David Martin of Holderness, and Susan McKimens of Plymouth.

New trustees elected to the board were Ken Evans of Holderness, Emily Preston of Canterbury, and Richard Starbuck of Center Harbor. Science Center employees Tim Curry, Tom Klein, and Lauren Moulis were each recognized for five years of service.

Also recognized at the annual meeting was Janet Robertson who received the Horizon Award. The Board of Trustees of Squam Lakes Natural Science Center established the Horizon Award in 1995 as a means to honor exceptional and extended service to the center.

Janet joined the staff of Squam Lakes Natural Science Center in 1990 as receptionist, and then she became office manager, then membership coordinator, then development director and now is Director of Development and Communications.

Janet has helped steer the organization for the past 23 years under four different executive directors. She has done so often quietly, in the background, helping to steer the ship in a steady direction, keeping an eye on the horizon. Her institutional knowledge is invaluable. She knows the donors and members of the Science Center better than anyone else and has forged relationships and friendships that have lasted decades.


Janet Robertson (Courtesy photo)