Sutherland Scholarships awarded to 7 local students

MEREDITH — As recent high school graduates are getting ready to enter their first semester of college, seven local graduates will be entering school with financial assistance from the Meredith Village Savings Bank James D. Sutherland Memorial Scholarship Fund. The Sutherland Memorial Scholarship is granted annually to one graduating high school senior from each community in which Meredith Village Savings Bank (MVSB) has an office.

This year's James D. Sutherland Memorial Scholarship recipients are Katelyn Bailey of Laconia, attendingUniversity of New Hampshire in Durham. Charles Buhrman of Plymouth attending Bemidji State University in Bemidji, Minnesota. Hiral Patel of West Ossipee, attending Stonehill College in Easton, Massachusetts. Michael S. Salas of Center Barnstead,  attending Thomas College in Waterville, Maine. Drew Matthew Swedberg of Moultonborough, attending Muhlenberg College in Allentown, Pennsylvania. Casey Wiggin of Meredith, attending Southern University of New Hampshire in Manchester, New Hampshire. KoKo Clarke of Gilford, attending The New School in New York, New York.

The Sutherland Memorial Scholarship was established in memory of James Sutherland, who served as CEO and President of Meredith Village Savings Bank between 1982 and 1996. Each year the scholarship is awarded to deserving high school seniors from Gilford High School, Inter-Lakes High School, Kingswood Academy, Laconia High School, Moultonborough Academy, Plymouth Regional High School and Prospect Mountain High School.