072013 Leadership Lakes Region Graduates Class of 22 (381 w/ 4 col. LLR group)

MEREDITH -The 15th annual Leadership Lakes Region (LLR) class recently graduated in a ceremony held at The Chase House in Meredith.
Steve Reno, Executive Director of Leadership New Hampshire was the highlighted speaker for the event and congratulated the 22 graduates who represent the non-profit, health care, education, banking and hospitality sectors of the Lakes Region. Reno encouraged the class to use their leadership skills to stay involved and give back to the community.
The graduation ceremony followed Lakes Day, a day of discussions on how the lake impacts local businesses and the region's economy as well as environmental issues affecting Lake Winnipesaukee.
Lakes Day was coordinated by Leadership Lakes 2012 graduates Michelle Brown, Director of Marketing, Mills Falls on the Lake and Bruce Goldthwaite, Captain, Franklin Fire Department with operational help from Leadership Lakes Region Coordinator, Jennifer McLean.
Featured were presentations by Thomas Burack, Commissioner, New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services and Bob Craycraft, Program Education Coordinator, UNH Cooperative Extension who spoke on the quality of NH's lakes. Other speakers included Rusty McLear, Mills Falls on the Lake, Mark Borrin, Preferred Vacation Rentals, Capt. Jim Morash, Mount Washington Cruises, Jennifer Anderson, Laconia Motorcycle Rally, Amy Landers, Lakes Region Tourism Association and Bill Irwin, Irwin Marine.
Bank of New Hampshire, a long-time supporter of LLR sponsored Lakes Day and the graduation ceremony which followed. The newest graduates join over 200 LLR alumni who have completed the leadership program since its inception in 1997.
The program's mandate is to educate today's leaders in the issues facing our region focusing on History and Culture, Social Services, Education, Economic Development, Health, Political, the impact of our natural resources on the region and the importance of leadership and community involvement.
The next leadership class begins in October with once a month day-long seminars. Applications are now being accepted for the leadership class of 2014. Anyone interested may contact Leadership Lakes Region at 524-6791 or e-mail at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Front row, left to right : Hope Jordan, Megan Page, Joe Ouellette, Cindy Bodah, Joyce Meisel, Kathy Owens, Tania Baert, Karen Switzer, Darcy Peary, Mary MacDonald and Sally Tamposi Griffin. Back row, left to right: Steve Tucker, Kent Hemingway, Paul Charlton, David Hall, Bob Goodearl, Kyril Mitchell, Chris Walkley and Andrew Hernandez. Not pictured Peg Purcell, Sarah Dunham and Leigh Willey. (Courtesy photo)