LeTourneau Named D-III Field Hockey Player of Year



BRISTOL — Hayleigh LeTourneau, a senior at Newfound Regional High School, has been named the Division III field hockey player of the year.

LeTourneau, a defensive stalwart,  led the Bears to a 17-0 season and their first state championship since 2009.

Newfound allowed just six goals all season and earned two shutout playoff wins.

After the season, LeTourneau was named to the Division III All-State First Team in addition to earning the player of the year award. She will represent New Hampshire against Vermont in the Twin State Field Hockey Game this coming summer.

LeTourneau is also a member of Newfound’s softball and cheer teams and plans on running track this year.

Also named to the Division III All-State team was  her teammate, Jasmine Peterson,  a freshman at Newfound.

Other players from the Lakes Region named to the first team were Riley Haskins of Franklin, Kellie Ryan and Nicole Berube  of Gilford, Devon Mello of Laconia, and Makenzie Snow and Cailey Clogston of Winnisquam.

Named to the second team from the Lakes Region were Julianne Marchand of Newfound, Riley Toupin of Winnisquam, Emma LaPierre of Franklin, Jillian Lachapeele of Gilford and Sierra Keene of Laconia.

Tess Whitney of Stevens was named goalie of the year and Dennis Pelletier of John Sark was named coach of the year.