Gilford’s Beaudet named Player of the Year

GILFORD — Brooke Beaudet was selected as the Division II Volleyball Player of the Year. She shares this honor with Payton Hodsdon from St. Thomas Aquinas.
Making the All State team from Gilford are Beaudet and Maggie McNeil, first team, and Karly Sanborn, second team.
Beaudet finished with 718 carrer digs, ranking second behind Jordan Dean. who finished her Gilford career with 784.
Beaudet has been a starter since her freshmen year and played both front row and back row, which coach Joan Forge said is rare in the Gilford program. “What is incredible is that these stats are only from three years because of an ACL injury that stopped her from playing her junior year. Brooke was Gilford’s libero in 2015 when the Gilford volleyball team went 20-0 and won the Division II championship. She helped her team to three semi final appearances and one championship,” said Forge.
Beaudet has been hanging around the volleyball program since she was a young girl. Her mother Jen was a JV coach in the Gilford program for a few years and her father Bill has been the assistant coach for over 25 years.

“I remember when Brooke was a young girl and she would come to the gym to shag balls. She has been around the sport for a very long time. Brooke is not only a fantastic all around player, but she is an inspiration to her team. Her competitive nature, intensity, focus and grit elevates our practices every single day. Brooke is one of the main reasons why Gilford was seeded #1 in the DII standings and made it to the final 4. This award is truly deserving,” said Forge.

1st Team All-State:
Brooke Beaudet (Gilford)
Corinne Lamond (Portsmouth)
Emily Frank (Windham)
Julia Guarniere (Milford)
Katie O’Brien (Souhegan)
Maggie McNeil (Gilford)
Natalie Gravelle (Portsmouth)
Payton Hodson (St. Thomas)
Taylor Sawyer (Windham)

2nd Team All- State:
Amaya Newport (Coe-Brown)
Annah Shaheen (Portsmouth)
Emma Gould (St. Thomas)
Gabriella Monico (Milford)
Kara Blaisdell (Oyster River)
Karly Sanborn (Gilford)
Madyson Buchalski (St. Thomas)

Nina Bemi (Windham)
Olivia Brown (Portsmouth)

All-State Honorable Mention:
Anja Swanson (Plymouth)
Emily Flaherty (Milford)
Hannah Chartier (John Stark)
Julia Forcillo (St. Thomas)
Maggie Sylvester (Coe-Brown)
Riley Codman (Conval)

CO-PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Brooke Beaudet/Payton Hodsdon.

The Laconia Daily Sun - All Rights Reserved